We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Five-Star Resort... Be Realistic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stony Creek Lodge

Save Saved
You added Stony Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stony Creek Lodge
General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Brevard, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not a Five-Star Resort... Be Realistic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

It was wonderful to wake up to a view of deer out in the parking lot! Although this Lodge offers minimal amenities, it's location and friendly staff far out-weigh those who are expecting a pampered lodging experience. If you're traveling between Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks, this small and convenient resting place provides an excellent respite. We decided to stay here instead of returning to Three Rivers because of the roadwork on General's Highway - a smart decision! Although it's somewhat dated, the facility is clean and well maintained. Breakfast was well supplied for just 11 rooms of lodgers. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    7
    12
    15
See reviews for
16
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Loved the staff very freindly and informative. Thank you Dawn and crew. Also loved the fireplace!! Very cozy! The place itself needs some facelift but it's clean. Thank you again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this simple, yet cozy hotel. Rooms are clean, staff is great and it got this past-times charm that I sometimes miss in American hotels. In that way it reminds me of an European alpine cabine or Scandinavian Ski lodge. They also got a huge fireplace there the guests can have their meal. The restaurant is very simple, just serving pizza and some other very simple dishes. The pizza is very good though, thin crust and they serve American wine and beer to a very reasonable price. Overall we are really happy with our stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Cozy? If you call a small room where you can barely walk cozy, it is! The carpet in this MOTEL (That is what it should be called) was from the 70s. Location was far from General Sherman, but not too far from General Grant.
Disliked: The room, the lobby, the store,....
Liked: The Pizza and the staff.
I would not stay here in the future.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

My son and I found this to be a perfect location, between both ends of the two parks. The staff was very helpful and quick to provide information . Room was clean, comfortable and met our needs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

A great experience. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and the pizza and beer and breakfasst wonderful. I would stay here anytime. It is perfedtly located between the two parks, Sequoia and Kings Canyon. We saw a mother deer with two fawns from the patio where we were eating dinner.

Fr

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

We recently stayed at this lodge for two nights. We had a comfortable bed and a clean bathroom. This place is conveniently located between Sequoia National Park and Kings Canyon National Park so we were never more than a half an hour away from either attraction which to me was the most important feature. This accommodation is a no frills type of lodging that you would expect in the middle of the forest. The room also came with an elaborate continental breakfast with individual packaged items such as cereal, milk and juice, etc. There are limited dining options in the middle of the forest so this breakfast was a nice touch. The staff was very attentive to make sure we were comfortable even lighting the fireplace when we were in the living area. My husband and I both enjoyed our visit and have already discussed returning for another stay. Be sure to check in before 7 PM because that's when the store which also includes the front desk closes.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stony Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Creek Lodge

Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Specialty lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Stony Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stony Creek Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stony Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.