We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giant trees” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Muir Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added John Muir Lodge to your Saves list
John Muir Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Giant trees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We had an excellent visit with lots to see and do. The accommodations were very comfortable and they had a nice market in order to buy necessary supplies. The restaurant was adequate although it had a very small menu and would have been difficult to eat at for an extended period of time but since we were only there for a couple days it was perfect.

Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    83
    32
    10
    5
See reviews for
69
84
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW


The lodge met our expectations perfectly and only got 4/5 for a few small issues like a really smelly fridge (I think people try to self cater more than we were and had some stinky food in there before us, we just used the lodge like a hotel so weren't expecting this) and for the very brown rooms which didn't help them to feel very light which was probably needed given that the trees restrict the light.
Good wifi in the lounge.
Restaurant is quite basic (limited menu) but everything we had was nice and well prepared.
It is quite a lot colder at the lodge than down in the canyon so if you are coming in spring or autumn this might make a difference to you. In the summer it is probably quite a welcome coolness.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Staff wanted to please. Stand outs were Heidi (Front Desk), Amanda (restaurant), and Lacey (Restaurant).
The park is very special, and a trip to Cedar Grove worth it every time.
Park Info desk is really good.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a Fairfield quality hotel at Marriott prices yet you are really paying for the scenery, tranquility and location.
I did not read my email properly and was completely flummoxed by an empty hotel lobby at 11am a night. I should have checked in at the Visitor's Center. Rooms were large ( I stayed in a Queen and a King on different nights), good beds, fridge and Keurig Coffee on hand. The wireless internet although free, does not make it as far as the rooms. The Lodge as a musty "Florida" type smell even though it's not humid up in the mountains.
Breakfast was standard cooked or continental buffet - All very adequate and good value given its purpose to stock up your energy for a day's hiking. Waitress staff were attentive and friendly
There are not a lot of choices in accommodation in the area and yet you feel that a four standard resort with on site attractions would be out of place in an area that id crying our to you to get out of the hotel and explore.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South SF
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Paid $202 for one night at John Muir Lodge, which was expensive but well worth it, for one night at the lodge. Convenient location: near the General Grant sequoia tree, about 11 miles from Hume Lake, and about 35 miles from Road's End (with two waterfalls along the way). Our room at the lodge was clean. Common sitting area had nice fireplace and comfortable chairs for relaxing time. Walls of room a bit "thin." We heard the people in the room next door to us talking early in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have travelled a fair bit around the USA, we love visiting the national parks but always struggle to find decent lodgings and food and drinks once inside any of the parks. We had fairly low expectations and the place neither exceeded or fell below these. The location of the accommodation is great and we loved visiting Sequoia, the highlight of the holiday was seeing 7 bears in one day!

The room is very 'brown' and why or why do they still give you sheets and blankets, white bedding with duvets PLEASE!!!! The room was cleanish.

The food in the restaurant was average but the servers were pleasant, I would say the food is mainly frozen and you cant get a decent coffee anywhere!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

John Muir lodge is a great place to stay while in Sequoia. The great room with wood beams and fireplace is a cozy place to spend some time. Our room was appointed with rustic furniture and a view of the woods. It is a wonderful place for some peace and quiet in a beautifully natural setting. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to John Muir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel John Muir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Muir Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.