We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing time at a clean property surrounded by beautiful trees and fresh air” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John Muir Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added John Muir Lodge to your Saves list
John Muir Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
South SF
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing time at a clean property surrounded by beautiful trees and fresh air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Paid $202 for one night at John Muir Lodge, which was expensive but well worth it, for one night at the lodge. Convenient location: near the General Grant sequoia tree, about 11 miles from Hume Lake, and about 35 miles from Road's End (with two waterfalls along the way). Our room at the lodge was clean. Common sitting area had nice fireplace and comfortable chairs for relaxing time. Walls of room a bit "thin." We heard the people in the room next door to us talking early in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    80
    32
    10
    5
See reviews for
69
81
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have travelled a fair bit around the USA, we love visiting the national parks but always struggle to find decent lodgings and food and drinks once inside any of the parks. We had fairly low expectations and the place neither exceeded or fell below these. The location of the accommodation is great and we loved visiting Sequoia, the highlight of the holiday was seeing 7 bears in one day!

The room is very 'brown' and why or why do they still give you sheets and blankets, white bedding with duvets PLEASE!!!! The room was cleanish.

The food in the restaurant was average but the servers were pleasant, I would say the food is mainly frozen and you cant get a decent coffee anywhere!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

John Muir lodge is a great place to stay while in Sequoia. The great room with wood beams and fireplace is a cozy place to spend some time. Our room was appointed with rustic furniture and a view of the woods. It is a wonderful place for some peace and quiet in a beautifully natural setting. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The John Muir Lodge is very nice. Our room was very large and well appointed. It is the best lodging alternative in Kings Canyon National Park. You can only get Wi-Fi service downstairs in the Great Room. There is no elevator, so if you have a heavy suitcase, you should request a room on the first floor. We would have given the lodge a 5 except the lady at the front desk was rude and very unfriendly.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

John Muir Lodge is in a super location, is quiet and offers a high level of comfort. The propoerty has been recently updated with new artwork and furnishings. The rooms have ample space with room to spread out. The room plumbing needs tweaking, but is functional. We loved our corner second floor room! We were close to a nice second floor balcony with rockers and sliders and saw lovely stars at night. (Don't tell anyone...but there weren't a lot of screaming kids and overly indulgent parents around.) Is that too cool or what?

The Great Room/Lobby had WiFi, games, books about John Muir, and a fireplace with crackling fire on chilly evenings. One night we listened to Ranger Frank Helling channel John Muir's story...first class and fascinating...complete with Scottish brogue! What a neat place to stay.

The lodge is centrally located to explore both lovely Parks. Our custodian was extrememly attentive and helpful. The Diner staff were likewise attentive and timely in their endeavors. The food was ample and above average quality and they had table cloths! They served pizza to steaks, trout to chicken wings...salads fresh and heathy. The Mother's Day brunch was a blessing! Good job, guys! We would stay at the Lodge and eat at the Diner again in a New York minute! Finally, you can't beat the location, baby!

Room Tip: Our second floor corner room was perfect...easy access to the balcony and great view of the Sequoia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a fairly basic lodge with limited facilities, but the rooms had been re-done in the not-too-distant past. The bathrooms are small but in good condition.

The beds in our room were comfortable and the bed linens of good quality. It was a little cold (in the 30's) while we were there and the base board heating was quiet and did a good job of maintaining a comfortable temperature.

Noise can be a problem. The toilets are of the pressurized type that flush with a loud whoosh. It was pretty evident when our neighbor was in the bathroom. Also, in the morning, our upstairs neighbor could be easily heard walking around.

There is a large sitting area with a nice fire place. It was very pleasant to sit near the fire and talk with other visitors.

The WIFI worked great but is only available in the sitting area, not the rooms.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms will probably be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would recommend this Lodge to everyone. The rooms are very clean and nice with all the amenities. Coffee, big screen TV's, refrigerators, ironing boards, glasses, ice, etc. The beds were perfect. I never slept better. The linens were clean and soft. The room temp was perfect and had a very clean aroma. The staff was very friendly and helpful. And they have wonderful outside decks with wooden rocking chairs where you can sit back and enjoy the scenery and nature. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to John Muir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel John Muir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Muir Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.