We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay while in Sequoia Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John Muir Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added John Muir Lodge to your Saves list
John Muir Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place to stay while in Sequoia Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

John Muir lodge is a great place to stay while in Sequoia. The great room with wood beams and fireplace is a cozy place to spend some time. Our room was appointed with rustic furniture and a view of the woods. It is a wonderful place for some peace and quiet in a beautifully natural setting. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    80
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
68
80
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The John Muir Lodge is very nice. Our room was very large and well appointed. It is the best lodging alternative in Kings Canyon National Park. You can only get Wi-Fi service downstairs in the Great Room. There is no elevator, so if you have a heavy suitcase, you should request a room on the first floor. We would have given the lodge a 5 except the lady at the front desk was rude and very unfriendly.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

John Muir Lodge is in a super location, is quiet and offers a high level of comfort. The propoerty has been recently updated with new artwork and furnishings. The rooms have ample space with room to spread out. The room plumbing needs tweaking, but is functional. We loved our corner second floor room! We were close to a nice second floor balcony with rockers and sliders and saw lovely stars at night. (Don't tell anyone...but there weren't a lot of screaming kids and overly indulgent parents around.) Is that too cool or what?

The Great Room/Lobby had WiFi, games, books about John Muir, and a fireplace with crackling fire on chilly evenings. One night we listened to Ranger Frank Helling channel John Muir's story...first class and fascinating...complete with Scottish brogue! What a neat place to stay.

The lodge is centrally located to explore both lovely Parks. Our custodian was extrememly attentive and helpful. The Diner staff were likewise attentive and timely in their endeavors. The food was ample and above average quality and they had table cloths! They served pizza to steaks, trout to chicken wings...salads fresh and heathy. The Mother's Day brunch was a blessing! Good job, guys! We would stay at the Lodge and eat at the Diner again in a New York minute! Finally, you can't beat the location, baby!

Room Tip: Our second floor corner room was perfect...easy access to the balcony and great view of the Sequoia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is a fairly basic lodge with limited facilities, but the rooms had been re-done in the not-too-distant past. The bathrooms are small but in good condition.

The beds in our room were comfortable and the bed linens of good quality. It was a little cold (in the 30's) while we were there and the base board heating was quiet and did a good job of maintaining a comfortable temperature.

Noise can be a problem. The toilets are of the pressurized type that flush with a loud whoosh. It was pretty evident when our neighbor was in the bathroom. Also, in the morning, our upstairs neighbor could be easily heard walking around.

There is a large sitting area with a nice fire place. It was very pleasant to sit near the fire and talk with other visitors.

The WIFI worked great but is only available in the sitting area, not the rooms.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms will probably be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I would recommend this Lodge to everyone. The rooms are very clean and nice with all the amenities. Coffee, big screen TV's, refrigerators, ironing boards, glasses, ice, etc. The beds were perfect. I never slept better. The linens were clean and soft. The room temp was perfect and had a very clean aroma. The staff was very friendly and helpful. And they have wonderful outside decks with wooden rocking chairs where you can sit back and enjoy the scenery and nature. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Fairly nice lodge, nice rustic style furnishings, clean and quiet. The place has been recently updated so the overall appearance is fresh. We had an upstairs room with a view of the wooded hillside. Too bad we couldn't really enjoy that view because the blinds wouldn't stay open. The heater was very loud and so was the little refrigerator, had to turn them both off to get any sleep. The shower, Krueg coffee maker and toiletries were nice. We stayed 2 nights and although our toiletries and coffee fixings were renewed housekeeping left the bed unmade, weird. Free wi-fi in the lobby which also features a fireplace and lots of natural light. We bought the added breakfast package with our room and that turned out to be a mistake. The breakfast was a very ho-hum buffet, not worth what was charged. Maybe once the summer season starts there will be a breakfast menu, I'd check first if I were to stay here again. The dinner was fine all things considered. The rooms are expensive only because this is lodging in a National Park so there are very limited options if you don't feel like camping. The hiking was great, especially the trail to Mist Falls.

Room Tip: Second story, wooded side, away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The lodge is located north the main entrance, about one hour driving. Unfortunately for my by the time we were at the top I was car sicked. The road is in good condition but lots and lots curves. Anyway the lodge is beautiful, close to the big trees trail a post office, a supermarket and a visitor centre. The room very cosy and confortable. We only stayed 2 nights but the park is soo huge it would take months. We arrived there in shorts and tshits and we found snow everywhere. . Chilly! Check the weather before going.
Food was nice and some options for vegetarian availeble which is nice.
I would go back

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to John Muir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel John Muir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Muir Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.