We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place Big Trees” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Muir Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added John Muir Lodge to your Saves list
John Muir Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Portland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice Place Big Trees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We didn't plan to stay here but it was so charming and centrally located to everything we wanted to see at Sequoia and Kings Canyon. There were rooms available so we took one on the first floor. If we go back we will get a room on the second floor and the far end of the lodge. Otherwise, it was a nice clean room. Enjoyed the great room and fireplace. Since wifi doesn't work in the room the great room was the place to be. We went on a walk that evening, the stars were just crazy beautiful. On the downside, the breakfast buffet at the restaurant left a lot to be desired. A lot. But the great location made up for some of the other shortcomings.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the entrance to the lodge and the great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    72
    29
    10
    5
See reviews for
64
69
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

How do you rate a hotel? Against the 5 star best place you can envisage or against other comparable properties? The issue is that this fits in neither category. The John muir lodge nestled in the Kings Canyon national park is a law unto itself. The lodge is recently refurbished. The rustic furniture is attractive and the rooms are spacious and have a coffee maker and fridge. When we left a note for our room service staff that we only drink tea and not coffee she left us plenty of tea and no coffee - a better response than in many 5 star hotels! The bed was comfortable. Slightly odd is only a single night stand. But for those who want it the plasma TV and direct TV service was a pleasant surprise. The Wi Fi in the great room works very well. There are a number of poor reviews of the restaurant. The staff refer to it as a diner. We found it to be more than adequate with pleasant and helpful staff and the food was fine although the selection is small - but you are in the wilderness! Breakfast was better than many modern hotels. We found this a good option and enjoyed our stay.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great trip with my daughter. My 4th visit to Kings Canyon but my daughter's first. Thank goodness we brought lunch items to eat while we toured around the area since there are very few places to get food in the park. Had a wonderful spring surprise when it snowed several inches on our second day.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I agree with Phil R..Fabulous location, shame about the food, could be better. The hikes and trees and worth the trip and wonderful for every age. Good rooms, nice layout and mostly quiet but a second floor room is recommended. We have visited most National Parks and this one did not disappoint..

Room Tip: Second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved the great room with large fireplace and sitting areas. We appreciated the tables and chairs because we brought our own picnic dinner. Free bottled water was offered in the great room.

Our room was comfortable and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a shame! The location speaks for itself and the lodge accommodation is excellent following the recent refurbishment but they shouldn't have stopped at the building - the staff need replacing also! The reception was consistently surly but worse was to come from the so called restaurant. The waiters continued the theme of surliness but further didn't know about the dishes. Not surprising when we ended up sending both dishes back - salad consisting of a few leaves and deli meats (questionable as being "off") and a chicken masala "gloop". Other guests returned their similar dishes that night also! On the positive side the lodge lobby area is lovely and the rooms are so comfortable. Let's hope that the operating company complete their refurbishment and bring it up to the superb standards of Wuksachi!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Wifi in lobby. Convenient location. Limited services in park but this was good option. Very limited on restaurant options. Would stay here again if visiting park in future.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to John Muir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel John Muir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Muir Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.