We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Trip And Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of John Muir Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added John Muir Lodge to your Saves list
John Muir Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Laguna Beach, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Second Trip And Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was a follow-up visit from a disastrous visit in October. My room was complimentary for two days as was my breakfast due to the experiences in October 2014. High Points- I was handed bottle water as I walked into the patio. The check-in staff was friendly, efficient and handled our request for a second story room with patience. Breakfast buffet was great with pancakes, biscuits, gravy, potatoes, vegetables, fresh fruit, bacon, sausage, two kinds of scrambled eggs, muffins, coffee etc. Low Points- The room itself was a bit oddly decorated. No headboard for the bed and it looked like a sofa was just stuffed in the room for good measure. Very boring and ho-hum bland room. Absolutely no character. Our room was also off the stairs and facility room for housekeeping; therefore, we heard housekeeping talking on walkie- talkies several times from 6-8 p.m. in the hallway. (as no regard for those in resting in their rooms) Another low point was we left for the day from 7:30 a.m. -4:30 and when we came back our room was not cleaned or made up. WE finally called Housekeeping at 5 p.m. and asked for clean towels and supplies. Unheard of in my opinion, when a guest is gone 9 hours and housekeeping can't be bothered to clean a room? Will not be returning as a guest.

Room Tip: Free wi-fi in big room downstairs not in each individual room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    68
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
61
64
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were met by a surly receptionist who just didn't seem very happy in her job.

The restaurant was a bit of a joke. To call it a restaurant is pushing the definition. Choices are very limited. We ordered soup, which while it was tasty arrived tepid. It was sent back. My wife's came back warm but mine was still cold. Our main was Chairman's pizza. The menu said chicken topping. The chicken turned out to be reconstituted chicken in breadcrumbs, probably chicken gujons sliced., and overcoojed dry. Very unimpressive. The waitress did her best.

On leaving the restaurant we thought we'd get a bottle of wine to take to the Lodge. The same durly receptionist informed us "shut at 6". Who's the shop for guys? Obviously not for the customers.

The room, while comfy and functional, was very.noisy. I don't know if we were under a water tank and/or water pumps but it seemed like whenever someone filled a bath, took a shower or used a tap the noise was awful. On top of that our room had an adjoining door with next door. We could hear taps running, a hair dryer blowing like it was in our room and a full conversation by the couple next door.
Unfortunately not impressive.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Hot Springs, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

For those of us who consider a camping trip to be an overnight at the local Motel 6, the John Muir Lodge would be a great improvement. It is difficult to rate this property because "what do you really expect in the middle of a highly visited National Park?" The Lodge was clean, adequate, nicely appointed and easily accessible. It was not particularly outstanding in any aspect and likewise, was not poor or inferior in any area. There are a couple of points that travelers should be aware of. If you are entering the Kings Canyon Park from the south - Visalia, Porterville, - it is a two hour drive over very winding roads to get to the John Muir Lodge. The check in desk is about one-quarter mile from the Lodge. There is nothing available to eat, buy or use - except meager vending machines - after 9:00 PM or before 7:00 AM.

Room Tip: Wi-fi not available in all rooms but is available in the lobby of the Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved the lodge and the inviting common area with a wood-burning fireplace. The beds were clean and incredibly comfortable. The location was convenient as either a start or finish in Sequoia. There was abundant wildlife to view in the morning and early evening as we walked to the restaurant which is not connected to the hotel. The corridors of the hotel are a little loud with numerous children running about- but who can blame them when you are in such a beautiful location.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The lodge, built in 2000, has a nice appearance both outside and inside. Registration is in a separate building a quarter mile away, and adjacent to the NPS Visitors Center. Therefore the lodge has an unattended lounge area with seating and wifi. Unfortunately the wifi signal does not reach the rooms. Our room was spacious enough for two people, had a decent sized flat screen TV with Direct TV service (very limited station selection), had good "rustic" log furniture (fairly new), and had a very comfortable King bed.

I had specifically asked for a non-ADA room when I made my reservation, but was put into one anyway -- Room M114. I was told that this was the only way I could get a king bed (really?). The two downsides to this room were:
1) The tiny bathroom sink was outside of the bathroom, and over carpeting. I never like carpeting around a bath area for sanitary reasons. There was also no room on the sink for setting any personal supplies.
2) The handheld shower head would not stay straight in its wall-mounted holder to spray directly on your body (without having it in your hand). The shower seat (folded up) and grab bars in the tub did not bother me.

The entire room had really dim CFL lighting, making it difficult to read.

But the worst thing about this hotel was the noise. There was no one abusing the very strict noise policy, but the construction of the hotel did not consider noise blocking or damping in the design or construction. We had an unused "shared door" with a next-door room, and the noise from normal conversations in this room sounded like the people were in our room, although the door was shut and bolted. The noise lasted until well after 11:00 PM. The door must have been hollow core and the sealing around the door non-existent. Likewise, the hallway was noisy from the poorly sealed room doors, and people talking in normal voices in the hallway was really disturbing. There were also lots of loose nails in the floorboards upstairs above us, and every footstep taken in the room above us resulted in a "squeak - squeak - squeak." We had intended to sleep in, but this was impossible with all of the noise. We could hear the neighbors shower running and the toilet flushing like these were in our room; it was almost embarrassing hearing the neighbors every activity. There was also no light-tight curtain to block the morning light, so our plan to sleep-in did not happen.

There is also no air conditioning in this hotel, and only electric baseboard heaters. Therefore the air was quite warm and stale in our room when we arrived. The room could have used a ceiling fan, although the ceilings were only 8 feet tall. We opened the window (fortunately we were in the back-side of the hotel, away from the parking lot), but the below-freezing night temperature did not lend to leaving the window open all night.

When we checked into the hotel and arrived at the room, a hotel maid said that the hot water would be off for 3 hours, but that the cold water worked (this was never mentioned at the registration desk). But in actuality we had no water in our room for the first three hours — neither hot nor cold, and we could not even use the toilet. But the water came on in the evening. I seriously wondered how the maid cleaned the bathrooms with no water available; I just hoped that she had cleaned our room before the water was shut off.

If it had not been for the hotel's substandard construction that allowed the noise issues, this hotel could have merited 3.5 stars. But I expect a good sleep in a hotel, and when they cannot deliver that, they lose significant stars in my rating criteria.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside of the hotel not facing the parking lot, and don't get a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an amazing time at Sequoia National Park. It was just gorgeous and John Muir Lodge was a great place to stay. New carpet, bedding and fluffy white towels. Fire always going in the main lodge fireplace.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The room was a OK... The restaurant service is not good at all, not enough servers for a lot of people's. The food was not good either. did not have a good experience and most likely not to come back again...

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to John Muir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel John Muir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Muir Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.