We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John Muir Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added John Muir Lodge to your Saves list
John Muir Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

in the past we've always camped in the National Parks, but we stayed in the lodge for our 30th anniversary, and it was lovely! We were comfortable and happy with our room, and the staff was very friendly! There is wi-fi in the common room, but not in the rooms, but we didn't mind. It was actually kind of nice to be "off the grid" for a while. There's no cell service in the National Park, but there are land-line phones in the lodge.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    67
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
60
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peralta, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We were impressed when we pulled in to the parking lot and went up to our room. The room, although cramped, was nicely furnished and had a great view out of the 2nd floor window. It was clean, smelled nice, and the bed was comfortable. The location is great, and the staff is friendly. The food in the on-site restaurant is good. That was really where the great part ended. I don't like to leave bad reviews, but can't help it in this case. Hubby and I spent way too much money for what we got.

Here is what I feel could use some improvement"
-HUGE gap at the bottom of the door allowing the glaring light from the hall into the room all night. Walking down the hall I noticed most of the doors had gaps at either the top or the bottom...not good.
-Really tightly packed room with 2 qn beds. The 2 bed was cheaper than a king room (by $20) and I'm not sure why when they're the exact same room.
-No wi-fi reception in the room, you have to walk to the common area of the lodge to get anything.
-Not enough parking. If you arrive later in the day you're out of luck and have to park and walk, or park in an "undesignated" spot.
-We paid for the Bed & B-fast package, TOTAL RIP OFF! B-fast is not paid for, you get a coupon worth $13 per person toward your b-fast purchase at the on-site eatery. Everything on the menu is a-la-carte and way overpriced. You end up spending money on your meal no matter what. The extra cost for the B&B package was more than $26/nt ($13 x 2ppl) so I really felt ripped off by this scam they got going on. Not to mention, no breaks for winter rates with half of the park roads being closed. Don't fall for it!!
-Breakfast doesn't start until 730am!!!!!!!! We wanted to be up, eat, and get started on a hike by that time. If you like to hike, and you like to start early, forget it unless you go for your hike on an empty stomach and get back before they stop serving at 1030a.
-Toilets flush so loud, and with such force that you can hear your neighbor flushing when they go at 2am...bummer.

Overall, I wouldn't stay here again and would be leery of suggesting it to a friend. Needs a lot of work and its not even old or outdated. Sad.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful family hotel. "Rustic" furniture details contribute to the atmosphere, but the hotel is very modern in its conveniences.
My son and I shared a room with two queen-sized beds next to his wife and their 18-month-old. The baby tends to scream for 5-15 minutes before falling asleep, and she's used to sleeping alone in a room -- she has trouble sleeping at all if her parents are in the room, thus the arrangement. The hotel walls are so well sound-proofed, we never heard her.
Although outdoor temperatures were cold at night, we were warm and comfortable in the hotel. The adjustable thermostat was a nice convenience.
Bedding was very comfortable.
Bathroom was very clean and unlike some hotels, the plumbing was very quiet. Hot water for showers within seconds (unlike my house.)
There are expansive porches overlooking woods on both the first and second floors. They are furnished with rustic-style chairs, settees and small tables. If March mornings had not been so cold, they would have been lovely places for morning coffee.
There is a Keurig coffee maker amply supplied with coffee and tea in each room. There also is a giant flat-screen TV in each room. There is WiFi service in the first-floor common room.
The common room has a log fireplace, several upholstered sofas, rustic chairs and card tables. During our two-night stay in mid-March, I saw a family of five playing card games and several solo visitors reading books or working on their laptops or tablets in the common room in the evenings.
There also is a small gift shop, but it doesn't carry toothpaste or other toiletry items so be sure to bring what you need.
The staff is almost invisible, but immediately accessible by phone. The smoke detectors in the stairwell nearest our rooms went off for no apparent reason the first night of our stay. A quick call from the common room phone got the problem solved in minutes.
Super clean place. The housekeepers are friendly. I walked back one evening from the Visitors Center complex and heard a motor -- a groundskeeper was blowing the paved paths clean below the lodge.
My daughter-in-law took the baby for an early morning walk on the hill beside the lodge and they saw three deer. Songbirds make morning and evening even more magical.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was friendly, the lodge beautiful, room comfortable and large, gift shop and small museum very informative and staff engaging and helpful, restaurant had excellent food and ice cream, area perfect for hiking, sight seeing, etc. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at John Muir Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your review Inga! We're glad you had a great time and found everything comfortable and the people friendly.

We've put a fair bit of effort into upgrading things since September 2014, but have big plans for the restaurant and some other areas. It should be even better on future visits.

Thank you once again for your visit and your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A mountain lodge inside a national park. The lodge provide an ample size room with a clean environment when the park road was closed and a 3 hour detour was not an option. Nice large lobby with a real wood burning fireplace. There is restaurant on site, well in another building, which provides comfort food at fair prices. The chef will make a grill ham & cheese if you ask.
The lodge staff and the restaurant staff were very helpful.

After hiking all over Yosemite looking at the Sequoias, and if you had only one spot that you could go to. Then come here and take the 5 min drive to General Grant and sequoia boys [not to be confused with General Sherman up the closed winter road]. You will see them it a short hike.

WARNING: If you live were snow is a normal, you will be shocked. Tourist in this park can not handle the roads if there is a dusting of snow on them. Your travel drive time will triple.

Room Tip: In March the place is empty
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at John Muir Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for the review dacfile. We're glad you found the staff friendly and the room comfortable.

You're quite right about both the grove and the driving. The Grant Grove stands up well against any grove and it can't be beat for convenience. You're also right about winter driving - many drivers in the mountains of California have had little experience with driving in the snow. The best thing you can do is be patient with the slow ones and keep as much distance as practicable with the cars around you. You always want to remember that there's a decent chance the driver has never seen snow before!

Thanks again for staying with us. We hope we'll see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A great place to stay if you are interested in visiting Kings Canyon and Sequoia. If I had researched a little further, I would have realized that it's about 45 minutes north of General Sherman and the Giant Forest. We drove up from Los Angeles and it would have been much faster if we had entered the park from 180 instead of coming in on 198 and winding up the mountain.

John Muir Lodge is close to the General Grant tree trail and lots of other hiking trails. Most of the rooms have two queen beds and everything was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at John Muir Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review Laurel!

We're glad your stay was pleasant.

Just to let you know, we recently updated the driving directions on our website to give people a little better guidance on the options, but we'll review them in light of your comment to make sure the pros and cons of each approach are clear. Of course we understand that most people are using their phone or car GPS to navigate rather than directions on our site, but we might still be able to help a few people here and there.

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review.

Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Great location, easy to get a feel for the surrounding wilderness while having all comforts close at hand.We travelled with a 5 year old energetic boy who was thrilled to have the big trees right outside. At the same time, small fridge in the room, cozy lobby area, vending machines for cold refreshing drinks, and hot showers with quick water warm-up and great water pressure, made for a very comfortable stay in the lodge. The beds were perfect- not too soft with good firmness.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at John Muir Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2015
Thank you mton8 for your review. We're always excited when a young child can come and learn the thrill of seeing a giant tree!

We're glad that the rest of the stay was nice too and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to John Muir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel John Muir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Muir Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.