We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lodge in Kings Canyon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Muir Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added John Muir Lodge to your Saves list
John Muir Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful lodge in Kings Canyon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A great place to stay if you are interested in visiting Kings Canyon and Sequoia. If I had researched a little further, I would have realized that it's about 45 minutes north of General Sherman and the Giant Forest. We drove up from Los Angeles and it would have been much faster if we had entered the park from 180 instead of coming in on 198 and winding up the mountain.

John Muir Lodge is close to the General Grant tree trail and lots of other hiking trails. Most of the rooms have two queen beds and everything was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    67
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
53
57
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, easy to get a feel for the surrounding wilderness while having all comforts close at hand.We travelled with a 5 year old energetic boy who was thrilled to have the big trees right outside. At the same time, small fridge in the room, cozy lobby area, vending machines for cold refreshing drinks, and hot showers with quick water warm-up and great water pressure, made for a very comfortable stay in the lodge. The beds were perfect- not too soft with good firmness.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at John Muir Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you mton8 for your review. We're always excited when a young child can come and learn the thrill of seeing a giant tree!

We're glad that the rest of the stay was nice too and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's only our first night here and already I want to write a review. It's very rustic, and we have one of the best rooms in the lodge & although it's fairly small, it's perfect for us. But what stands out for us is the outstanding guest service we have already received! We got lost on the way here so we got here after 8 pm which is I guess when the only restaurant closes. Catherine at check in immediately asked us if we ate & told the kitchen to serve us.
The chef, JT, came out & greeted us, telling us what's good & was just super friendly & welcoming. Our server, Andrew was so attentive to us even though it was well after closing.
Andrew answered all of our questions & even have us advice on what to do (trails to hike) while here. Both my husband and I are big on customer service & we were highly impressed by even our first two hours here. We are here celebrating our 5-year anniversary, and if the rest of the trip is anything like tonight, I'm sure there will be another review!

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at John Muir Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks so much for the review! We wish you all the best for your fifth anniversary trip.

I will be sending this review to Catherine, JT and Andrew. It is always a big motivator to know that one's efforts have been appreciated.

Thank you once again and once again Happy Anniversary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The lodge is very clean, comfortable, but not luxurious. The check in is at the market, two minutes walk away. We stayed in February and felt like we almost had the lodge to ourselves. In the morning, we were delighted to see deer everywhere around the property (and no bears!). We brought snacks for the room so did not try the restaurant...but everyone working there was extremely friendly and helpful. A wonderful place to stay and excellent night's sleep, comfortable bed and cute lodge-type furniture.

PS: Wifi worked well in the lodge common room and the room itself had a new TV and small fridge.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There were only a few guests at the hotel during our visit in January. The room was not large or stylish but was clean and comfortable and had a Keurig coffeemaker (yum!). There is a huge lobby with board games provided by the lodge. We made a fire and enjoyed our evening. The restaurant was good and a close walk from the lodge. No elevators. Wifi only accessible from the lobby. Staying in the park make this a good choice, especially in winter when there may be road closures and many of the restaurants in the towns nearby are closed for the season.

Room Tip: No elevators - stay away from the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is our first time at Kings Canyon during the winter season. I checked out the reviews before booking and was looking forward to staying here. We stayed for 3 nights.
Pros: Great location and convenience. Great alternative to camping in the snow.
Cons: So-so room for the $$$, uncomfortable bed, non-working phone in the room, and the Staff was unfriendly. Our room was missing pillows, had to asked 3 times and didn't get the pillows until the 3rd night. After our first night, we returned to our room around 6pm to find the room as we left it, unclean. We couldn't call the front desk because our phone was not working so we just let it go. The second day, we came back to our room around 5pm and found it unclean again, had to go find the cleaning lady to ask her to clean the room.

Restaurant: Very slow service even on a slow night (we were one of three occupied tables and there were 2 servers). Out all the meals we ate there and we ate there the whole time we stayed at the hotel, the only dish that was worth mentioning was the Chile. The second day, they ran out of bun for the burger. I ordered a trout dish and got something else with frozen vegetables. My kids ordered a large peperoni pizza and got two mini flat bread pizzas. When we asked, the server, she said 'Oh we stop making normal pizza and only offer flat bread pizza'. Even though the table next to us got a large size pizza on a non-flat breads. On the last day, the server charged me for someone else's breakfast bill. When I showed him what we ordered, he tried to reverse the charge, but instead of reversing the charge, he charged me again, then he got upset and frustrated. I should be the one to get mad...I had to wait for almost 30 minutes, standing by the register waiting for him to fix his mistake. The sad thing is when I got home the wrong charge showed up on my CC statement. I had to contact the bank to dispute it. I was so very disappointed with the restaurant, especially after hearing the rave reviews by other travelers.

Despite the challenges that we have encountered with the hotel and restaurant, we managed to enjoy the surrounding, the activities and the natural beauty that Kings Canyon had to offer. I will not stay here again and definitely would not recommend it unless you go there with low expectation.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at John Muir Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your comments. We do appreciate the time you took to leave feedback and we apologize that you were disappointed with your stay.

You should have already received a private message from us with contact information to put you in touch with the general manager to help resolve any outstanding issues.

We try our best to provide a high level of service to all our guests are trying hard to improve the level of service and we hope you'll come back and try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The lodge is very basic, but filled my needs. No TV in rooms or lobby which I appreciated. The rooms are nothing special and a little out dated, but still very clean and everything worked. No wifi or internet in rooms. Wifi is available only in the lobby. The lobby is a great place to hang out at the end of the day to surf the internet if needed, play board games, read, etc. No elevators in the lodge, so if your on the upper level you will have to carry your luggage up and down the stairs with you. Sometimes during the day, a forest ranger will set up a small show and tell display inside the lobby. A display of anything concerning the forest. Its fun for the kids and adults as well.
When you arrive, you do not check in at the lodge, you check in at the main building which is a short 10 minute walk from the lodge where the restaurant and gift shop is located. If your in need of extra towels, sheets, etc, you will need to look for the house keeping staff. There is no front desk personel at the lodge, so if house keeping is gone for the day and the registration desk by the resaurant is close, you will have to wait until the next day when they are working.
No problem parking during the day, but if you arrive back at the lodge late at night, the parking lot will most likely be full. You will need to park at additional parking between the restaurant and the lodge and walk back. A small road incline as you approach the lodge. I was dropping my family off at the lodge, go park by the restaurant and then walked back, but I did not mind, I enjoyed the walk back at night. The lodge is away from the cabins and tent camps, so no loud campers at night or traffic noise. The lodge is quiet and peaceful at night.
You want to consider purchasing snacks, food, etc. before arriving. The General store by the restaurant is expensive $$$$. If you forgot something, smores supply or what ever, your only option is the General store. No other stores in the area.
An outdoor theater/stage is located across the street from the restaurant. Forest rangers, historians, story tellers, etc. perform there. No charge for the entertainment, its free. I would recommend any of their presentations for the entire family.
Lots of hiking trails located near the lodge and giant redwoods in walking distance. I did see bears with cubs during my hikes. If you see a bear, don't panic, keep a safe distance, don't call them or whistle to them. They will just keep walking and ignore you.
There is a small history museum across the parking lot from the restaurant. Check it out if you get a chance. Its free and full of local history.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at John Muir Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your taking the time to review your stay and provide so many tips for future travelers! It's great that you had a chance to enjoy the fire in the lobby and the presentations by rangers and story tellers.

We are sorry, though, that you were unable to reach the registration desk staff at night. The desk is staffed 24-hours a day, but on the night shift there is only one person, who also has other duties. If he has to be away from the desk, he may miss the call. Our apologies if that happened during your stay.

For future reference, the registration desk number is (559) 335-5500 ext. 0 if calling from an outside line. Instructions for calling from on-site are printed on the phones.

Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to John Muir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel John Muir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Muir Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.