We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Muir Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added John Muir Lodge to your Saves list
John Muir Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Temecula, California
1 review
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The lodge is very basic, but filled my needs. No TV in rooms or lobby which I appreciated. The rooms are nothing special and a little out dated, but still very clean and everything worked. No wifi or internet in rooms. Wifi is available only in the lobby. The lobby is a great place to hang out at the end of the day to surf the internet if needed, play board games, read, etc. No elevators in the lodge, so if your on the upper level you will have to carry your luggage up and down the stairs with you. Sometimes during the day, a forest ranger will set up a small show and tell display inside the lobby. A display of anything concerning the forest. Its fun for the kids and adults as well.
When you arrive, you do not check in at the lodge, you check in at the main building which is a short 10 minute walk from the lodge where the restaurant and gift shop is located. If your in need of extra towels, sheets, etc, you will need to look for the house keeping staff. There is no front desk personel at the lodge, so if house keeping is gone for the day and the registration desk by the resaurant is close, you will have to wait until the next day when they are working.
No problem parking during the day, but if you arrive back at the lodge late at night, the parking lot will most likely be full. You will need to park at additional parking between the restaurant and the lodge and walk back. A small road incline as you approach the lodge. I was dropping my family off at the lodge, go park by the restaurant and then walked back, but I did not mind, I enjoyed the walk back at night. The lodge is away from the cabins and tent camps, so no loud campers at night or traffic noise. The lodge is quiet and peaceful at night.
You want to consider purchasing snacks, food, etc. before arriving. The General store by the restaurant is expensive $$$$. If you forgot something, smores supply or what ever, your only option is the General store. No other stores in the area.
An outdoor theater/stage is located across the street from the restaurant. Forest rangers, historians, story tellers, etc. perform there. No charge for the entertainment, its free. I would recommend any of their presentations for the entire family.
Lots of hiking trails located near the lodge and giant redwoods in walking distance. I did see bears with cubs during my hikes. If you see a bear, don't panic, keep a safe distance, don't call them or whistle to them. They will just keep walking and ignore you.
There is a small history museum across the parking lot from the restaurant. Check it out if you get a chance. Its free and full of local history.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    65
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
50
54
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This lodge offers the best alternative for those who want to know the Kings Canyon National Park and the Sequoia National Park. It's located near the entrance of Kings Canyon Park and just a few meters from the famous General Grant Tree.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here but there were pros and cons. You need to check in at the reception desk in the shop just as you turn off the main road (near the restaurant and post office) before driving up to the actual lodge building - they don't tell you that, we only knew from other reviews on Tripadvisor. The visitor centre was at the entrance of the site and the ranger was very helpful giving advice on ideas for trips. The room was big, clean, comfortable and warm. There is no lift so you have to drag your suitcases up the stairs if you get a room on the upper floor. There was a big communal room on the ground with log fire which we used when we wanted wifi but it didn't have much ambience, we felt like it was just a room with chairs and tables in it so it didn't seem to have any 'heart' for the want of a better description. The lodge is 5 minutes' walk from the shop/restaurant and you get a fabulous view of the stars as you walk at night. The restaurant was more like a diner and there wasn't much choice on the dinner menu - burgers and pizza was a bit basic/unimaginative - but breakfasts were much better. Service was friendly but slow so we would have eaten somewhere else if there'd been any alternative. There is a shop selling basic foodstuffs but very little fresh food. Overall it was a clean, comfortable place to stay for the price but we wouldn't come back, we'd go to Wuksachi Lodge.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had never been to Kings Canyon National Park and we love to snow shoe so we signed up for a two night visit. The snow was not right for snow shoeing but we had some great hikes. We felt like we had the park to our self. The lodge was a good location and a comfortable place to stay. I hope we can return when all the roads are open.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The King's Canyon National Park is a wondrous place and the John Muir Lodge fits in completely. The Lodge is designed in the style of European mountain hotels of a time gone by.It has a Great Room with a fireplace, wide corridors with outdoor sitting areas at their ends and unique wood furniture and original art. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant is very good as well.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhall, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 3 nights at the lodge and enjoyed snowshoeing and hiking. The lodge has a large common area with a fireplace, Wifi and a restaurant a few hundred feet away from the lodge which is the only place where one can eat since the nearest town is 45 minutes away. The atmosphere is very lay-back with a friendly helpful staff, The lodge rooms are quiet, spacious and have been recently upgraded.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This a great lodge to relax at when visiting Kings Canyon National Park. They have made some upgrades this year which include flat screen TV and refrigerator in the rooms. I was underwhelmed by service provided by staff this year, but in the past they had great personal service.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to John Muir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel John Muir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Muir Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.