We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms but average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of John Muir Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added John Muir Lodge to your Saves list
John Muir Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice rooms but average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here but there were pros and cons. You need to check in at the reception desk in the shop just as you turn off the main road (near the restaurant and post office) before driving up to the actual lodge building - they don't tell you that, we only knew from other reviews on Tripadvisor. The visitor centre was at the entrance of the site and the ranger was very helpful giving advice on ideas for trips. The room was big, clean, comfortable and warm. There is no lift so you have to drag your suitcases up the stairs if you get a room on the upper floor. There was a big communal room on the ground with log fire which we used when we wanted wifi but it didn't have much ambience, we felt like it was just a room with chairs and tables in it so it didn't seem to have any 'heart' for the want of a better description. The lodge is 5 minutes' walk from the shop/restaurant and you get a fabulous view of the stars as you walk at night. The restaurant was more like a diner and there wasn't much choice on the dinner menu - burgers and pizza was a bit basic/unimaginative - but breakfasts were much better. Service was friendly but slow so we would have eaten somewhere else if there'd been any alternative. There is a shop selling basic foodstuffs but very little fresh food. Overall it was a clean, comfortable place to stay for the price but we wouldn't come back, we'd go to Wuksachi Lodge.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    64
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
49
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had never been to Kings Canyon National Park and we love to snow shoe so we signed up for a two night visit. The snow was not right for snow shoeing but we had some great hikes. We felt like we had the park to our self. The lodge was a good location and a comfortable place to stay. I hope we can return when all the roads are open.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The King's Canyon National Park is a wondrous place and the John Muir Lodge fits in completely. The Lodge is designed in the style of European mountain hotels of a time gone by.It has a Great Room with a fireplace, wide corridors with outdoor sitting areas at their ends and unique wood furniture and original art. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant is very good as well.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhall, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 3 nights at the lodge and enjoyed snowshoeing and hiking. The lodge has a large common area with a fireplace, Wifi and a restaurant a few hundred feet away from the lodge which is the only place where one can eat since the nearest town is 45 minutes away. The atmosphere is very lay-back with a friendly helpful staff, The lodge rooms are quiet, spacious and have been recently upgraded.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This a great lodge to relax at when visiting Kings Canyon National Park. They have made some upgrades this year which include flat screen TV and refrigerator in the rooms. I was underwhelmed by service provided by staff this year, but in the past they had great personal service.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great location not too far to travel from home. Accommodations are not fancy, but are comfortable and clean. Rooms are a little small as is resort. The surroundings are lovely. Restaurant could be better, food and service.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were happy to get the last room on a holiday weekend.
The location is good in that you're right in the park. However a number of things did not go right at this time.
When you book, they don't let you where to check in. We arrived late afternoon and were happy to find the pictured building as GPS was no help. But there was no check in desk anywhere in sight. I walked around the hotel and found a housekeeping person finally and asked where to check in. It turned out the registration is at a smaller building where the gift shop and restaurant are located down by the road. They don't seem to have adequate parking at a busy time as there was no parking space left at this registration building area. Later in the evening when we returned to the hotel there was no parking there either.
We ate at the restaurant by the registration desk, but the service was horrible. They were out of ketchup but did not mention it when taking the order. We happened to overhear it and cancelled our order for the fries. I was surprised they were still serving hamburgers. Our food did not come at the same time and my order had been forgotten. Fortunately the nice manager came to rescue and did not charge us for the food that came really late and tried to make it right. But the waitress wanted to add that back when we were leaving.
I was hoping to take a bath after a walk in the snow. But when we arrived in the room after dinner, I was disappointed to see a grayish bottom of the white tub and hair. We didn't complain about that and I just washed my feet as I exited the tub after shower.
When I turned the bed, the sheet was wrinkled, and little glitter flakes and hair were present. The sheets were obviously not changed. We tried to call the housekeeping from the room phone but it was not working (no tone). I walked to the hall and tried to call from there but again no tone. We trekked back to the registration desk which is a few minutes' walk (in the snow/ice) and asked to get the sheets changed. We waited for about an hour and someone finally came to change it.
There was something wrong with the thermostat and the room stayed very warm (when it's icy out) all night even with the window slightly open.
They apparently had a huge employee turnover after new management came in. I think that if they were under full operating capacity, they should not have offered rooms that they could not clean adequately. It was the worst experience for a hotel room.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to John Muir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel John Muir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Muir Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.