We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John Muir Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added John Muir Lodge to your Saves list
John Muir Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Davis, California, United States
1 review
“Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Incredibly friendly staff, great food at a reasonable price. Roads and sidewalks were well maintained despite lots of snow. The fireplace in the lobby was a nice touch and I enjoyed the holiday decor. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    56
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
47
48
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Not sure what other people were talking about when I read reviews before visiting. The lodge was beautiful. The staff were uber friendly and attentive. The room was clean (and had a tv, not that we cared, but others said there weren't any) and the bed comfy. There were only two negatives I can recall, the first is that they did not have clear signage for the office and checkin. The second, was that the lodge rooms don't seem to have much sound proofing (I could hear the woman next to us zipping her suitcase). Other than that, we had a beautiful visit. Oh, and if you can book with the groupon, it's a great deal! We got a discounted room rate and free breakfast vouchers!

Room Tip: If traveling in the slow season (when they aren't packed) request a room away from other visitor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were there just before thanksgiving, the weather was gorgeous, the air fresh and clean. It was a good time of the year to go as it was not crowded. The cabins are not for the faint of heart. We looked at one, for some reason the clerk let us see one of the unclean cabins so that we could decide whether to stay in the lodge or in the cabin. Why would you show a dirty cabin to a prospective customer? Anyway, it was tiny and grubby looking. The lodge itself was okay. The room was clean. However the bathroom flush was so powerful that it probably woke up the neighbors 2 rooms away!

The decor was lodge up to par $200+ a night. I expect something quite high end for that price. I'm a savvy hunter for good deals, but we were not planning to stay at the lodge, we were going further up the mountain, but it was getting dark and the climb steep so we decided to stop at the first place that the attendant recommended at the entrance to Kings Canyon, so we got the door price!

The restaurant was okay too. We did enjoy the breakfast menu, dinner was okay. Restaurant staff are pretty friendly. I was most disappointed with the lobby great room. The furniture is old and very stained, unattended and looks like the staff have given up on trying to improve anything! I was looking forward to hanging out in the great room, but it was very uninviting. There wasn't anything going on in that room like we expected and so we ended up going to bed at 7.30! On the upside we were able to rise, eat heartily and be on our way up the mountain which gave us panoramic views.

Room Tip: Compare the cabins and the rooms and make a decision. Some of the cabins have shared bathrooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved the stay at John Muir Lodge. We loved the King room and spent a little time relaxing in the perfectly warmed room. No HVAC issues! We hiked and took pictures which is the reason for the trip. Catherine was great!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent I will come back next year.
I would recommend staying at John Muir Lodge.
Rooms are in great shape very clean. Great view from the lodge.
Access to bottle water.
All employees very helpful.
Review 10+

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This lodge is very nice. It is very accessible to all the sights you will want to see. The lodge is in the forest, so wildlife is around. So cool! The rooms are nice. The entrance to the lodge has a fabulous room with a huge fireplace to enjoy while reading, chatting, or just sitting. The restaurant is close by. The food is adequate but not outstanding. The staff people are wonderful and very helpful. We enjoyed our stay and would return again.

Room Tip: You may want to be upstairs. We could hear the people walking about their room above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee R, General Manager at John Muir Lodge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Greetings from the Canyon -
We appreciate your patronage and want to thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at John Muir Lodge in Kings Canyon National Park.
We couldn't agree with you more - this is a memorable place to visit for sure. You should see the Sequoia's with a dusting of snow - magical.
Come back and visit us again.
Ps looking out my office window and a doe and 2 fawns are meandering by – love park life!
Best regards -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I spent our 30th anniversary there last week.
We were looking forward to the hiking and exploring in the Sierra country and not really concerned about the accomodations.
However- as it turned out - our stay at the Lodge was so much fun that I have to tell somebody.
First - the restaurant: I must mention our server, Miss Kim, she was so funny and helpfull.
We really enjoyed her company at dinner time - thank you Kim!
Miss Pam took care of us at breakfast - making sure we had our coffee and also making certain that we would take the scenic hike before we ended our stay - the one that is just a mile or two behind the Lodge. We were going to skip it but Pam inststed and she was right!
All of the staff were extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the Park and it showed.
Now - the for the Best Part of Our Stay - Chef Brandon.
My wife and I had dinner in the Lodge shortly after we checked in. The soup special was broccoli with roasted gouda. It was Perfect. I mean we looked at each other like "what the ** just happened - this soup is amazing!"
The next evening - we decided to have a big dinner, stray off the diet plan a little maybe.... I was thinking rib eye....
Turns out the special was a pork tenderloin roasted with an orange marmelaide cilantro glaze and we could have sweet potato fries with chipotle ketchup. I had never had a meal so perfectly prepared in my life and I have been a few places.
Inspite of ourselves we finished the plate in embarrasingly short order. Miss Kim came by to check on us and we all laughed - "I know - its so good, right?" she says.... It was Epic.
Chef Brandon - thank you for the Best Dinner Experience Ever. And for the surprise creme brulee desert.
Les carottes sont cuites - we will never enjoy eating in fine restaurants again - they will only disappoint us.
If you plan to visit the Kings Canyon or Sequoia National Park - please do yourself a solid and go see Kim and Pam at the Grant Grove Restaurant...dont forget to ask about the Special of the Day - Chef Brandon will take good care of you.
And if you need accomodations - the John Muir Lodge is our new favorite place - I confidently recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee R, General Manager at John Muir Lodge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Happy 30th Anniversary!

Thank you for spending it with us and for taking the time to write such a lovely review recognizing our wonderful staff.

This is now posted on the bulletin board for all staff to read - it is nice to get to celebrate the good in our daily interactions with our guests. Each one of the employees you mentioned will be getting our version of "employee bucks" to spend however they would like.

We look forward to your return visit - and exceeding your expectations again in the future. Pam and Kim are on staff today and say hello.

Warmest regards -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to John Muir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel John Muir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Muir Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.