We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing surrounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Muir Lodge

Save Saved
You added John Muir Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
John Muir Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“amazing surrounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great room comfortable beds and all in all a very good stay. Lovely view from our window. The only problem we faced was getting our suitcase up the stairs as not lifts. There is wifi but not in the room only in the lobby. The surrounds are amazing and very peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    40
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilboa, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location in the park for your base to explore the area. Food was fair, nothing exceptional although the staff was efficient and professional. Room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. The bathrooms could use a little updating.

Room Tip: The check in is by the restaurant not the lodge itself. Look for a room in the back of the lodge on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The facility is a bit dated, but the staff is wonderful and the setting .... outstanding. I think you will find this is a family-style lodge without frills. The lobby is functional and reminds me of a college dorm entry space. There is no TV in the lobby and we had to go to the restaurant/gift-shop building to check-in. The the fireplace area is not conducive to family gathering there. There were a number of college-aged about on lap-tops ... it is not a lodge-style arrangement you may be accustomed to, but is a clean place to stay so you can be within the park proper.

Room Tip: Reserve early if you're planning to stay during a major holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our family of 4 were en route to Monterey Bay after Yosemite and decided to stay over a night at King's Canyon. We chose this lodge and we were not disappointed. Close to the Grant Grove Village with market, post office and restaurant. Lobby has good and free wifi, for emails etc. Not suitable for downloading music or movies. Room was simple. Would have been great if there was a microwave. Bit it had a Kuerig with free coffee and tea k cups. Ice was available at the end of the corridor. Overall, it was clean, comfortable and convenient.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The lodge has a 1970s motel vibe to it. And I don't mean that in a good way. The walls and doors are so dirty. Everything is badly dated. For the price, you'd expect much much better.

The Internet works well in the lobby only. Don't know why they can't cover the rooms - the place isn't that big.

The worst though is the restaurant. Service was terrible and the food not any better. We ate there once and then ate whatever snacks/groceries we could find instead. Avoid eating there like the plague. The pre-made sandwiches in the market aren't great, but a huge step up.

It looks to me that DNC doesn't care about the property and is just milking it dry.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

John Muir lodge is really a pretty lodge in a great location. I am giving it a 4 star because no AC and it was warm in August. For $225 a night I would have expected AC. Also the restaurant doesnt open at 6 am at least for coffee. I think there should be a coffee shop open at 6am someplace in the lodge area.

All that aside this is still a great little lodge in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

If you want a clean comfortable, clean spacious room in the heart of the National Park this is for you. You can walk(or drive 4 mins) to giant Sequoais after the crowds leave. Easy drive to other locations. If you do not want to camp, but want to be in the park and close to the sights, this is it. Great store within an easy walk. Breakfast was amazing. Yes you need to walk to the restaurant,its not in the lodge, but hey, you are in a National park. The rooms are not cheap, but unless you camp, you will not get a nicer location. We camped 2 nights then went there to regroup. If you want a 5 star hotel with all the bells and whistles, then don't go to a national park, try Disney or stay outside the park and drive an hour or so. You wake up and you there. Peace and quiet. Several porches with rocking chairs look over the woods. Get wine or beer (great choices at the store) and enjoy the forest. From there you must drive into Kings Canyon, stop at a little store along the way for ice cream, see amazing canyon views and more Also, after the park take 180 west to Sanger for a wonderful B & B in a winery.

Room Tip: No elevator, so ask for a ground level room if you need one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to John Muir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel John Muir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Muir Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.