We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but that's about it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of John Muir Lodge

Save Saved
You added John Muir Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
John Muir Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
somewhere
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Location but that's about it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The lodge has a 1970s motel vibe to it. And I don't mean that in a good way. The walls and doors are so dirty. Everything is badly dated. For the price, you'd expect much much better.

The Internet works well in the lobby only. Don't know why they can't cover the rooms - the place isn't that big.

The worst though is the restaurant. Service was terrible and the food not any better. We ate there once and then ate whatever snacks/groceries we could find instead. Avoid eating there like the plague. The pre-made sandwiches in the market aren't great, but a huge step up.

It looks to me that DNC doesn't care about the property and is just milking it dry.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    36
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
33
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

John Muir lodge is really a pretty lodge in a great location. I am giving it a 4 star because no AC and it was warm in August. For $225 a night I would have expected AC. Also the restaurant doesnt open at 6 am at least for coffee. I think there should be a coffee shop open at 6am someplace in the lodge area.

All that aside this is still a great little lodge in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you want a clean comfortable, clean spacious room in the heart of the National Park this is for you. You can walk(or drive 4 mins) to giant Sequoais after the crowds leave. Easy drive to other locations. If you do not want to camp, but want to be in the park and close to the sights, this is it. Great store within an easy walk. Breakfast was amazing. Yes you need to walk to the restaurant,its not in the lodge, but hey, you are in a National park. The rooms are not cheap, but unless you camp, you will not get a nicer location. We camped 2 nights then went there to regroup. If you want a 5 star hotel with all the bells and whistles, then don't go to a national park, try Disney or stay outside the park and drive an hour or so. You wake up and you there. Peace and quiet. Several porches with rocking chairs look over the woods. Get wine or beer (great choices at the store) and enjoy the forest. From there you must drive into Kings Canyon, stop at a little store along the way for ice cream, see amazing canyon views and more Also, after the park take 180 west to Sanger for a wonderful B & B in a winery.

Room Tip: No elevator, so ask for a ground level room if you need one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

To see all the sights of the 2 National Parks here, you have to stay in the park! The lodge is a nice choice! Check in was a bit confusing because we had to check in across from the visitor's center, not in the hotel. The employee who checked us in was really nice and told us when things closed in the area. There is 1 restaurant and a couple little gift shops/markets. She gave us our keys then we just had a little drive up the road to the hotel. The outside looked like what you would expect in a national park! Cute and rustic.The lobby area had plenty of tables and chairs. We saw a few families just hanging out. Our room was nice and clean. Nice big bed and plenty of space. It had a table and chairs, a sofa, a fridge, and a Kuerig coffee pot with a few selection of coffee k-cups. The rooms do not have air conditioning or a fan at all. We ordered a pizza back at the restaurant to eat in our room because the dining room down the road was so busy. It took over an hour for 1 cheese pizza! It didn't look to good, but it was our only option to eat and tasted ok. We had no phone service. Zero. Could not call or text anyone. I guess that is to be expected in the middle of nature! We did enjoy our stay. On a side note, some of the roads in the park and getting to the park were a little scary to drive on. Going up hill and down hill and sharp corners.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Yes, I am decreasing the rating because of no elevator. We saw a bus load of elderly and handicapped people who struggled getting their possessions and themselves up the stairs. We, too, struggled carrying our belongings.
The room was okay. Spacious, but very dated. It is not that it was "rustic" but more worn out. For example, tears on the sofa, no pictures on the walls.
Wifi was iffy in the main gathering room only, not the room. It was available at no charge "down the road a piece" at registration across from the visitor center.

Room Tip: First floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levallois-Perret, France
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice hotel located in the Kings Canyon Park with all the comfort of a chain hotel. We stayed in a 2 queen beds room where we asked for a rollaway bed. Staff was very nice and helpful.Breakfast was included and was offered as a buffet .

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Lodge was rustic, but clean.It's great to be near the different amazing sites.The restaurant is good. If you go a bit earlier, you won't have to wait because everyone is still out and about.The Sequoias in the area were our main focus and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to John Muir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel John Muir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Muir Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;