We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful and Back to Nature Experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Muir Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added John Muir Lodge to your Saves list
John Muir Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
New York
1 review
“A Beautiful and Back to Nature Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The Lodge was rustic, but clean.It's great to be near the different amazing sites.The restaurant is good. If you go a bit earlier, you won't have to wait because everyone is still out and about.The Sequoias in the area were our main focus and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    67
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
53
57
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

the lodge was beautiful however if you get one of the rooms that have not been renovated be prepared to be disappointed. when eating at the restaurant put in the order for the appetizers and when they are served then order the meal otherwise everything will come at the same time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This place is beautiful, so relaxing after a day in the park to come back and sit on a rocking chair on the porch. The rooms are clean and on our first night we were able to take part in the Dark Sky's event, we had a talk from a Mars Rover engineer which was a once in a lifetime opportunity. They even put on a complimentary buffet and the food was stunning really really stunning, a lovely surprise, they even had free drinks. Those that planned this should get a pat on the back.
The only down side is no elevator which is a nightmare and we struggled.
We did see a bear but further into Kings Canyon, there are lots of other wild life close by like deer.

Room Tip: Free wifi in the lobby which I didn't know about until we left!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee R, General Manager at John Muir Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Greetings from the Canyon -

Thank you for your kind words about the Night Sky event. We had a fun time putting it all together. I thought Miss Nagin's presentation was fantastic as well. We will be hosting this event again in 2015 - watch your email for information about this.

Please come by and introduce yourself on your next visit to the woods.

Best regards -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

You're minutes away from numerous trailheads. The rooms are clean and of a good size. Make sure you check the restaurant opening hours, because if can get busy, and closes fairly early. There's a small market store next door you can fallback on.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We reserved 3 rooms in a different building months in advance knowing we would have 4 - 80+ year old family members traveling in addition to 7 others. At the last moment we were bumped to the John Muir Lodge. Although the facility was adequate and clean it was not set-up for people with accessibility issues. Because of a travel delay we didn't arrive until 11:00 p.m. and it was very difficult to get everyone settled in the 2nd floor rooms we were assigned.

Rooms were clean and hotel was quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Fantastic location, nice staff, good service, comfortable room.
Not cheap, but the facilities have exceeded our expectations.
We had a nice room facing the meadows.
No TV or wifi inside the room.
Restaurant has good food.
Lots of hiking options, park is just beeeeautiful!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the meadows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The location is good. Just about 20 minutes to the tallest tree in the US. However, the cabin is terrible, especially the economic one. There is no light in the room. That means you should borrow the lantern form the front desk. Unfortunately, that is not enough to see everything in the cabin. You still need your own flashlight to see clearly. You can imagine the worst thing you can have is living in the dark room in the bear area. That is extremely horrible! In addition, there is no private bathroom. You need to cross a sand area to the shared bathroom. That is to say, you would never get your feet clean! I think I would never visit the lodge (or pick the same type room) again because the night should be comfortable to relax and re-energy myself for the following day!

Room Tip: Never choose the economic room! Please choose the one with LIGHT and PRIVATE BATHROOM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to John Muir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel John Muir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Muir Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.