We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Muir Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added John Muir Lodge to your Saves list
John Muir Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This place is beautiful, so relaxing after a day in the park to come back and sit on a rocking chair on the porch. The rooms are clean and on our first night we were able to take part in the Dark Sky's event, we had a talk from a Mars Rover engineer which was a once in a lifetime opportunity. They even put on a complimentary buffet and the food was stunning really really stunning, a lovely surprise, they even had free drinks. Those that planned this should get a pat on the back.
The only down side is no elevator which is a nightmare and we struggled.
We did see a bear but further into Kings Canyon, there are lots of other wild life close by like deer.

Room Tip: Free wifi in the lobby which I didn't know about until we left!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee R, General Manager at John Muir Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Greetings from the Canyon -

Thank you for your kind words about the Night Sky event. We had a fun time putting it all together. I thought Miss Nagin's presentation was fantastic as well. We will be hosting this event again in 2015 - watch your email for information about this.

Please come by and introduce yourself on your next visit to the woods.

Best regards -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    90
    34
    11
    6
See reviews for
78
92
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

You're minutes away from numerous trailheads. The rooms are clean and of a good size. Make sure you check the restaurant opening hours, because if can get busy, and closes fairly early. There's a small market store next door you can fallback on.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We reserved 3 rooms in a different building months in advance knowing we would have 4 - 80+ year old family members traveling in addition to 7 others. At the last moment we were bumped to the John Muir Lodge. Although the facility was adequate and clean it was not set-up for people with accessibility issues. Because of a travel delay we didn't arrive until 11:00 p.m. and it was very difficult to get everyone settled in the 2nd floor rooms we were assigned.

Rooms were clean and hotel was quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Fantastic location, nice staff, good service, comfortable room.
Not cheap, but the facilities have exceeded our expectations.
We had a nice room facing the meadows.
No TV or wifi inside the room.
Restaurant has good food.
Lots of hiking options, park is just beeeeautiful!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the meadows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The location is good. Just about 20 minutes to the tallest tree in the US. However, the cabin is terrible, especially the economic one. There is no light in the room. That means you should borrow the lantern form the front desk. Unfortunately, that is not enough to see everything in the cabin. You still need your own flashlight to see clearly. You can imagine the worst thing you can have is living in the dark room in the bear area. That is extremely horrible! In addition, there is no private bathroom. You need to cross a sand area to the shared bathroom. That is to say, you would never get your feet clean! I think I would never visit the lodge (or pick the same type room) again because the night should be comfortable to relax and re-energy myself for the following day!

Room Tip: Never choose the economic room! Please choose the one with LIGHT and PRIVATE BATHROOM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The lodge is very nice but I would not do the included breakfast. The rooms were being updated with TVs while we were there. It would be nice to have wifi in the rooms but it was also nice to sit in the nice lobby with the fire place and do group activities. The restaurant at the lodge is poorly managed and slow. We had the included breakfast and it was slow to arrive then cold both mornings after it arrived. We tried to eat dinner one night and it was not to be. We were seated and after 20 minutes with no service I asked the manager and she rudely replied that our server was also serving a large party and walked off. Any normal manger would have seen that we at least had menus and water. After an additional 10 minutes of watching other people seated after us being waited on we left hungry.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

John Muir Lodge (or Grant Grove Village cabins on the same property) is an excellent location if you're traveling south from Yosemite to enjoy Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks - it's a convenient, reasonably priced home base for most points of interest in both parks - for trail info and maps, visit the NP Visitor Center that you drive past to reach the Lodge. The General Grant giant sequoia tree and Grant Grove trails are walking distance, and the northern part of Sequoia NP is a little more than 20 miles south, a mere 40 minute drive to the Sequoia shuttles.

In addition to the Visitor Center, the Grant Grove/ JM Lodge complex has a grocery, gift shop, and restaurant with excellent food (the apple pie!!) but S-L-O-W service. The Lodge itself has a picturesque, log cabin look nestled in the woods - in spite of the "Active Bear Area" signs, we didn't see any there! The Lodge common room is large and comfortable with free wifi (and a strong signal). Rooms and bath are adequate size, and the windows actually open. They have posted "quiet hours" (9 PM - 8 AM?) - good for a restful night.

Now for the lows. While the property was clean, the housekeeping was not as pristine and particular as it could have been. The 2nd floor porch and hall/ stairs did not appear to get daily sweeping. In our room, the baseboard had been removed and not replaced and some debris remained against the wall. Housekeeping also came very late - one day we returned after 4 PM and the room was not yet cleaned. The beds were made up with two flat sheets, and the bottom sheet wasn't even securely tucked. We wished for a small fridge too. Besides the slow restaurant service, that's it for the negatives.

Staff members were always very, very nice. Overall, it was a lovely visit and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so ask for a first floor room if hauling bags up the stairs is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to John Muir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel John Muir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Muir Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.