We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lodge avoid the Restaurant.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of John Muir Lodge

Save Saved
You added John Muir Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
John Muir Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Nice Lodge avoid the Restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The lodge is very nice but I would not do the included breakfast. The rooms were being updated with TVs while we were there. It would be nice to have wifi in the rooms but it was also nice to sit in the nice lobby with the fire place and do group activities. The restaurant at the lodge is poorly managed and slow. We had the included breakfast and it was slow to arrive then cold both mornings after it arrived. We tried to eat dinner one night and it was not to be. We were seated and after 20 minutes with no service I asked the manager and she rudely replied that our server was also serving a large party and walked off. Any normal manger would have seen that we at least had menus and water. After an additional 10 minutes of watching other people seated after us being waited on we left hungry.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

John Muir Lodge (or Grant Grove Village cabins on the same property) is an excellent location if you're traveling south from Yosemite to enjoy Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks - it's a convenient, reasonably priced home base for most points of interest in both parks - for trail info and maps, visit the NP Visitor Center that you drive past to reach the Lodge. The General Grant giant sequoia tree and Grant Grove trails are walking distance, and the northern part of Sequoia NP is a little more than 20 miles south, a mere 40 minute drive to the Sequoia shuttles.

In addition to the Visitor Center, the Grant Grove/ JM Lodge complex has a grocery, gift shop, and restaurant with excellent food (the apple pie!!) but S-L-O-W service. The Lodge itself has a picturesque, log cabin look nestled in the woods - in spite of the "Active Bear Area" signs, we didn't see any there! The Lodge common room is large and comfortable with free wifi (and a strong signal). Rooms and bath are adequate size, and the windows actually open. They have posted "quiet hours" (9 PM - 8 AM?) - good for a restful night.

Now for the lows. While the property was clean, the housekeeping was not as pristine and particular as it could have been. The 2nd floor porch and hall/ stairs did not appear to get daily sweeping. In our room, the baseboard had been removed and not replaced and some debris remained against the wall. Housekeeping also came very late - one day we returned after 4 PM and the room was not yet cleaned. The beds were made up with two flat sheets, and the bottom sheet wasn't even securely tucked. We wished for a small fridge too. Besides the slow restaurant service, that's it for the negatives.

Staff members were always very, very nice. Overall, it was a lovely visit and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so ask for a first floor room if hauling bags up the stairs is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chertsey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms were good and clean, but lacked the modern technology. Considering the price I would expect to have wifi and TV in the room as basic. Hotel is in middle of National Park which was why we booked it but needs to up-date as it was expensive given the room amenities

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good experience at the John Muir Lodge -- they accommodated two adults and three kids with a rollaway at no charge (plus two doubles). Clean room for three nights thanks to diligent housekeeping. No A/C, no TV, no breakfast buffet -- but that's not we expect inside a national park lodge. We want a good location and a functional, clean room, and that is what you get. Summer rates are not cheap but are reasonable. Drawback -- the restaurant in Grant Grove that is walking distance from JMLodge is pretty bad. After one meal there, we to the market and got own food; we didn't care about cooking something hot. If that is important to you, you should consider the cabins.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the forest, not the parking lot, because you have the windows open and it's qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff should tell guests at check in that fans are available in the summer. Room on the 2nd floor was so uncomfortably hot that we joined numerous other guests sleeping in the lobby. Staff member said we should have asked for a fan. Did not know that was an option? If I pay that much money for a room I should be comfortable sleeping there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

John Muir lodge is very pleasant and a great way to enjoy the real sequoia. It is simple but nice and is in a good location in grant grove village, with various good food options around, including a small supermarket.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great rustic way to enjoy the Sequoia National Park. We used the package option and first enjoyed the BBQ Dinner. Upon arriving check-in was very smooth - as was check-out. We were very impressed with the lodge building and the rustic feel of the furnishings. It made for a great evening to go for a walk to further enjoy the natural beauty and then return to the "log cabin feel" lodge. Very clean, employees were very friendly, and the scenery can't be beat. Be sure to note the lack of TV or air conditioning if those are "must haves" for you. Otherwise, it is a great way to stay in the park!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to John Muir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel John Muir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Muir Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.