We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of John Muir Lodge

Save Saved
You added John Muir Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
John Muir Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
WV
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This lodge is not on par w/ other national park lodges. The walls are thin. The beds are soft. The rooms, while large, are a bit worn looking and dark. The log style furniture is nice though. The communal area isn't as grand as other park lodges. That said, it is a long, windy drive from this park to anywhere. Therefore, it is a much better alternative than staying off site. For that reason, I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    14
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On one hand this is a budget motel dressed up with some wood and with a large lobby and fireplace. There are dorm-looking hallways, there is nothing special.

On the other hand there is a beautiful wood exterior. There is a communal lobby where you get to enjoy the fire, games and company with travelers from all over the world.

There is the incredible forest, hiking, wildlife, clean air, all literally just outside your window.

The staff (of the hotel) was kind and accommodating.

There is only one restaurant in the Grant Grove area, and it is horrible (food and service) so you may want to bring your own food and cook it at the campgrounds nearby and/or plan on driving elsewhere to eat.

Overall we had a great time in Sequoia and would return

Room Tip: Second floor rooms looking away from the parking lot and toward the forest are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This area is not to be missed. Unsurpassed beauty all around you. Rained basically the whole time we were there. Took a few short hikes into the majestic red woods. Fireplace at the lodge felt great after damp walks. Lodge has lots of character, nothing fancy. Small rooms, spent most of the time enjoying the fire while inside. Had the place to ourselves, off season.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta Ga
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay. Very good for the price. Matter of fact i thought it was a great value. Comfortable clean room. Quiet, peaceful, and a walk to many large trees. For the view (and the buffet breakfast) next time I would stay at the Montecito Sequoia Lodge however. Wish we would've scheduled more than one night here but we got to see the "major" trees.
Don't come in using road 245 though. After a long day on the road getting here 245 was nothing but curves without the views If you're coming from Death Valley avoid road 155 at all costs for the same reason. Theses 2 roads made the San Joaquin valley a slice of heaven.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The John Muir Lodge is located in the lodge and cabin area behind the Grants Grove Village and Visitor Center inside of Kings Canyon National Park. The Village is right off of Highway 180 which runs through the middle of the Village. The Lodge is so close to the Visitor Center and restaurants that you can walk there in under 5 minutes. The Lodge is also next to the small and windy road that leads to Panoramic Point.

The rooms are basic National Park hotel rooms so are a little rustic and have no TV sets. We stayed in a room on the first floor with 2 queen beds. The room was nice but has an odd layout with the sink basically in the entry way and has no place to put your toiletry bag. There is a large meeting room on the first floor where you can go to play games and put together puzzles. The lodge has a bunch of games and puzzles to choose from. This room was pretty crowded in the evenings with both kids and adults. At he end of each hallway is a deck with pine furniture to relax and talk after a day of hiking. These pine chairs and rocking chairs are popular so grab an open one when you can. I really enjoyed relaxing there. My wife and I enjoyed reading on the rocking chairs after a day of hiking. We also enjoyed the game room and tried to put together a tough puzzle (the puzzle was a picture of LOTS of old baseball cards and we never finished it).

I stayed here for two nights with my wife and we paid about $190 per night. We were on the 1st floor and it was quiet and the fans kept us cool at night. I read some of the negative reviews of the Lodge before leaving and warned my wife that the place would be really old and rustic. Since my expectations were low I was amazed at how nice the room was (I was expecting the worst). They had free Wi-Fi but I had a lot of trouble connecting. Check in was a little confusing as the Registration desk in not inside the lodge. We initially drove straight to the lodge and walked around looking for the registration desk before we figured out the lodge office is back by the visitor center and gift shop (right next Grant Grove Restaurant).

The John Muir Lodge is in a good location if you want to visit Grants Grove, take a day trip down into Kings Canyon and also drive 45 minutes to hike the trails in Sequoia National Park. The best feature of this property is its location inside the Kings Canyon National Park. The rooms are on the rustic side so you need to keep your expectations lower as you are in the wilderness and not in New York City. The prices are on the high side but what do you expect since you are in the mountains (where the demand for rooms exceeds supply).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I enjoyed staying here with 3 senior citizen family members on our trip to Kings Canyon/Sequoia. It was a simple, quiet place with basic rooms. There is a nice common space for reading or playing games. The 2 complaints I have is that there are no refrigerators in the rooms, which would be super useful since food options in the area are very limited, and they don't have someone to assist guests (there is no "front desk"). Overall it was good for our short trip, but as someone who likes to bring their own food, no mini-fridge is a bummer and I therefore wouldn't stay for more than a couple nights.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Where to begin about this experience? This lodge is ridiculously expensive for what you get. The operators are definitely price-gouging as it is the only place to stay in this area of the national park.
We paid around $180 a night and didn't get much for it. The lodge itself looks nice from the outside. There is a communal area with a log fire which is quite cosy. But from there, it is all downhill! The lodge is like a place you might stay for a school camp. The room was basic, the furniture very worn (there was an old stained sofa), the pillows were extremely thin ... and the NOISE was incredible. We could hear people in the rooms on either side of ours, and we could hear people in the corridor, walking past, closing doors etc etc. If you want to a peaceful sleep, do not stay here! You can't even select a room at one end of the corridor in the hope of getting away from the noise, because there are stairwells at both ends of the corridor
We had camped for 2 nights prior to staying here, and wish that we had just kept camping.
Also, the restaurant is atrocious - took an hour to get our meals, and the food was only just passable for food - see my review for Grant Grove restaurant.
It absolutely outrages me that this lodge gets away with charging what it does. That's monopoly in national park concessioners for you.
Oh yeah, and the front desk staff took an extremely long time to check us in and out.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs. Rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels

Been to John Muir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
John Muir Hotel
Hotel John Muir
Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Muir Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.