We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go see this stump” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Stump Basin

Big Stump Basin
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Type: Trails
Activities: Hiking, Birdwatching
Attraction Details
Edwards, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go see this stump”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I thought that seeing a stump was dumb, I was wrong. This is completely worth the short hike. You can stand on top of the stump of the cross section of Sequoia Tree that is in 2 museums. One in London and one somewhere in the US. (I cannot remember where). You can stand up on a 40 foot diameter stump, it is amazing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Impressive stumps...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife had spotted a picture of a stump with a ladder and hoped to see it. It is actually the "Mark Twain Stump" and it is easily accessed from the pullout just past the entry station near Grant Grove. Most other spots in the park don't invite you to get so 'up close and personal' with the trees, so check this one out!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Big Stump Basin, Sequoia NP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

stumps of huge Sequoias cut 100 years ago; now part of Sequoia National Park - to stop the logging of the giants. The wood is not valuable like Redwood is - it shatters. Pretty place, young sequoias growing nicely.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Leave the Parking Lot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Watching people pull up, get out of their cars, use the washroom and then take a photo of the smallish (they think its big) stump by the bathrooms almost makes you weep. If you have driven all that way take 30 minutes and take the trail to the Mark Twain stump. Its a great walk and the site of all the stumps along the way, trees sacrifice for very little gain (they shattered when they fell) is a sobering lesson. Your kids might want to jump back into the car to watch The Lorax on their iPad. Show them the real thing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter Ranch
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“See why this park was created”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We hiked the Big Stump Trail near the Grant Grove entrance station to see the impact of deforestation at Sequoia. Our daughter was working on her Girl Scout Cadette Trees badge, which called for understanding more about deforestation and logging. What better place to see the impact?

We easily completed the trail in an hour. We got the one page trail guide from the Grant Grove Visitor Center. It was also a great opportunity for our Cadette to work on map reading skills and identify where we should be looking for the key sites on the map. We were able to walk inside the Burnt Monarch tree and on the Shattered Giant tree. There are huge piles of sequoia sawdust leftover from the logging days. The Mark Twain Stump was created when the American Museum of Natural History wanted a slice to show their visitors. Shame on them! There are lots of trees growing back and I think this helped cement in our minds why this park was created. That the threat of cutting down all the trees was real.

We paired this hike up with an afternoon swim at Lake Hume, which was refreshing.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Stump Basin also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Big Stump Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Stump Basin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Big Stump Basin to your Saves list