We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Grove

Grant Grove
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Forests
Activities: Cross-country skiing, Snow-shoeing, Hiking, Camping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Inside Kings Canyon National Park is this grove of giant Sequoias.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good place to stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had been up at Cedar Grove Village so this was the next stop on our drive south. You can get a full meal at Grant Grove Restaurant or buy a coffee/muffin from the vendor set up just outside. Yummy blueberry muffins by the way : )

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    19
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, NY
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in Grant Grove Village during our parks vacation, so this was the first thing we did. There is a short easy paved loop that takes you to General Grant. Beautiful and awe-inspiring! We wound up visiting the grove again, doing one of the longer walks through the grove.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

A great stop after visiting the Grant Grove Visitor's Center (either before or after). There is a lot of history and the trees are so awe inspring.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful landscape surround you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I've been wanting to visit this place for months after seeing it on a nature show. $20 will get you into the park for a day, $30 is an annual pass for sequoia national park and kings canyon park good for 12 months from when you buy it. $80 for USA national parks annual pass. If you enter the sequoia national park it's quite a drive up the one road. It starts off very curvy with lots of switch backs.

Make sure to top off your gas tank before you head up the mountain; it's about 1 hour slow drive before you get to a gas station. The gas prices are slightly inflated but that's expected. There are a few small markets on the drive but you'll be better off packing your own food.

Went Labor Day weekend and the weather was hot/warm at the base of the mountain. As you climb in altitude you can expect it cool down significantly, even during the hottest hours of the day. When you finally get there, spend about a half hour to an hour walking on the paved walkway through the grove. It was all breath taking. I'm sure I stopped to take pictures with every tree and huge rock in the grove. Definitely looking forward to visiting again.

Best part of the trip are all the convenient pull off parking areas on the shoulders along the most scenic spots on the road.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I've now seen the LARGEST LIVING THING on our planet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This place is just awesome! To some, yes they are just trees..
But to the ones who really think about it... These trees have stood the tests of time!!!
They have born witness to many major events of our time as well as having stood tall and strong durning the time of Christ!
They are also the LARGEST LIVING THING on our planet! Bigger than whales... And they have survived all of the harshest environments nature can throw at them: fire, freezing cold, drought, floods...
And the BIGGEST THREAT YET to their continued survival is MAN!
Just think about it... As well as all the other beautiful wonders of nature this park has to offer...
Awesome place to visit!
A very humbling experience...:-)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant Grove also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Grant Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.