We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must See!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Grove

Grant Grove
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Forests, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
Activities: Camping, Cross-country skiing, Snow-shoeing, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Inside Kings Canyon National Park is this grove of giant Sequoias.
Clinton, NY
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in Grant Grove Village during our parks vacation, so this was the first thing we did. There is a short easy paved loop that takes you to General Grant. Beautiful and awe-inspiring! We wound up visiting the grove again, doing one of the longer walks through the grove.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    23
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

A great stop after visiting the Grant Grove Visitor's Center (either before or after). There is a lot of history and the trees are so awe inspring.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful landscape surround you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I've been wanting to visit this place for months after seeing it on a nature show. $20 will get you into the park for a day, $30 is an annual pass for sequoia national park and kings canyon park good for 12 months from when you buy it. $80 for USA national parks annual pass. If you enter the sequoia national park it's quite a drive up the one road. It starts off very curvy with lots of switch backs.

Make sure to top off your gas tank before you head up the mountain; it's about 1 hour slow drive before you get to a gas station. The gas prices are slightly inflated but that's expected. There are a few small markets on the drive but you'll be better off packing your own food.

Went Labor Day weekend and the weather was hot/warm at the base of the mountain. As you climb in altitude you can expect it cool down significantly, even during the hottest hours of the day. When you finally get there, spend about a half hour to an hour walking on the paved walkway through the grove. It was all breath taking. I'm sure I stopped to take pictures with every tree and huge rock in the grove. Definitely looking forward to visiting again.

Best part of the trip are all the convenient pull off parking areas on the shoulders along the most scenic spots on the road.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I've now seen the LARGEST LIVING THING on our planet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This place is just awesome! To some, yes they are just trees..
But to the ones who really think about it... These trees have stood the tests of time!!!
They have born witness to many major events of our time as well as having stood tall and strong durning the time of Christ!
They are also the LARGEST LIVING THING on our planet! Bigger than whales... And they have survived all of the harshest environments nature can throw at them: fire, freezing cold, drought, floods...
And the BIGGEST THREAT YET to their continued survival is MAN!
Just think about it... As well as all the other beautiful wonders of nature this park has to offer...
Awesome place to visit!
A very humbling experience...:-)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Stop by and get food, info, gifts, etc”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Grant Grove village has the following: a vistor center, a small grocery/basics store, a gift shop, a pizza parlor (in the back of the restaurant), a restaurant, bathrooms, etc. The check in for the John Muir lodge and all the Grant Grove cabins is here, just in between the gift shop and restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant Grove also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Grant Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.