We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How can you not love a Sequoia Tree?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Grove

Grant Grove
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Forests
Activities: Cross-country skiing, Snow-shoeing, Hiking, Camping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Inside Kings Canyon National Park is this grove of giant Sequoias.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“How can you not love a Sequoia Tree?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This park is astonishing. We've been to many many national parks and always marvel at our good fortune to live in such a amazing country with all this preserved for everyone to enjoy. This park is in our top 5....it is a bit off the beaten path but for us, it was so worth the effort to get there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    19
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Loius
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A quiet and peaceful place for a night’s rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We drove from San Francisco and stayed one night at the cabin in Grant Grove before going to Sequoia National Park the next day. The location was good. The stores, restaurant, and visitor center were right next to each other. The General Grant Tree Trail was also close by. Very convenient. The cabin was rustic and basic. Not the best but good enough to rest a tired soul. You need to pay for hot water in the shared bathroom. But the sink outside did run hot water in case there was a need. We walked around the area and saw sea of giant pine cones on the side of the road. Quite fun for some photos.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tourist Stop, but Small & Quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We walked through the visitor center, and the gift shop. It was small, but not mobbed with people. They have a nice restaurant here, but we were not hungry. I liked it here because it is much smaller than Yosemite, and much more humble. During the day they set up a little bbq/food service outside.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanford
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Secret Giant Grove (North Grove Loop)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have been on the Grant Grove loop trail many times, but this time we found a little traveled, well marked trail that goes thru a wonderful grove of Giant Sequoias and fern covered meadows. It starts at the end of the overflow parking lot (where the tour buses usually park.) The road is closed to vehicles, so park at the far end of the lot, and follow the dirt road. Take the first trail to the right, signs says "North Grove Loop", follow the trail as it goes downhill about 400', about 1.2 miles thru majestic, shady and peaceful scenery, with hardly a person around! After you come out of the loop take the first trail marked "Dead Giant Loop", this takes you past a giant dead sequoia, and on to a view of a private lake, Lake Sequoia.. Follow the trail back around to come out where you started. Well marked trail heads, plus you can but a map at the beginning of the General Grant Trail, or at the Grant Grove Visitors Center. Well worth the hike! Take plenty of water, the coming back is a lot of uphill walking. (Bring your own T.P., there are no toilets available, so you'll have to rough it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very cool sequoia grove to visit. Easily accessible to vehicles in the summer. Just a short walk to the actual General Grant tree.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant Grove also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Grant Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.