We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grant grove actually in Fresno County, not here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Grove

Grant Grove
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Inside Kings Canyon National Park is this grove of giant Sequoias.
Lindsay, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Grant grove actually in Fresno County, not here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The major attraction on this route, through Three Rivers, is Giant Forest. This includes Moro Rock, a must climb of 340 steps, and the General Sherman tree, the largest living thing in the world. The General Grant tree, at Grant Grove is some miles north, taking the General's Highway (get it?). Not sure who screwed up, but you will not be disappointed at either place. Please climb Moro Rock. Then stop in Lodgepole, or at Wasachi for lunch.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Campton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely amaZing. I am warning those weary of heights... this is not the place for you. The trip up to these giants was scary as hell... hair-pin turns every 25 feet, massive cliffs and all around scary!

If you are brave though, it is one of the most amazing things I have ever seen! Well worth the $20. The hike down is easy but if you're with elderly ask one of the park entrance personnel for a handicap sign... I saw many older people struggling to do tgd steep incline back up. Tge handicap parking literally will put them at the base of generak Grant. A++++++ sight

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AubreyMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Out of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place is truly spectacular. We visited on mid March, though the weather was pretty nice, as March is still considered to be off-season, there was very few people and we enjoyed the easy trail on our own. The main attraction is General Grant tree, which is the second largest living being on earth, it's just huge. There are many other giant sequoia which you can see in this trail. Absolutely must for everyone, an experience of lifetime.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AshimB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Toddler's 1st Snow Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Ok parents- are you wanting to give your tot their first snow experience- and not take a long windy, vomit inducing drive? Then look no further- Grants Grove Visitor Center MEADOW! Yup, just across from the Visitor Center and behind the restaurant (who serves the BEST ONION RINGS ever), is this large, vast, meadow. A winter wonderland for tots (and parents). You can park right next to the meadow, bundle your tot up, grab the sled (yup, take a sled) and your camera. People have created small slopes to sled down, perfect for the little ones. My husband and my 2 year old got into a torpedo type sled (the basic ones you find at Walmart) and had a blast going up and down it. Nothing too dangerous about it...it was more of a slope than a "hill". When my tot got done trying to make snowballs we ventured into the Visitors Center to warm up (awesome place to check out) and then walked over to the restaurant and had lunch. I did write a review about the restaurant- good prices, good food (onion rings, I can't stress this enough). Most people were picnicking...with your car being right there- no problem. We only spent about 90 minutes in the snow, the rest was walking around, eating lunch, etc. Let's be real- a toddler can handle so much before naptime :) He then passed out snoring before we left the parking lot.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sancia_689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, IL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Exceptional and Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

After a long day of traveling and numerous stops...one more to see General Grant. Loved the uniqueness of each tree and the history of them. It was a great way to end our visit to the parks.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant Grove also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Grant Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing