We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grant grove actually in Fresno County, not here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Grove

Grant Grove
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Forests
Activities: Cross-country skiing, Snow-shoeing, Hiking, Camping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Inside Kings Canyon National Park is this grove of giant Sequoias.
Lindsay, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Grant grove actually in Fresno County, not here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The major attraction on this route, through Three Rivers, is Giant Forest. This includes Moro Rock, a must climb of 340 steps, and the General Sherman tree, the largest living thing in the world. The General Grant tree, at Grant Grove is some miles north, taking the General's Highway (get it?). Not sure who screwed up, but you will not be disappointed at either place. Please climb Moro Rock. Then stop in Lodgepole, or at Wasachi for lunch.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    19
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Campton, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely amaZing. I am warning those weary of heights... this is not the place for you. The trip up to these giants was scary as hell... hair-pin turns every 25 feet, massive cliffs and all around scary!

If you are brave though, it is one of the most amazing things I have ever seen! Well worth the $20. The hike down is easy but if you're with elderly ask one of the park entrance personnel for a handicap sign... I saw many older people struggling to do tgd steep incline back up. Tge handicap parking literally will put them at the base of generak Grant. A++++++ sight

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Out of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This place is truly spectacular. We visited on mid March, though the weather was pretty nice, as March is still considered to be off-season, there was very few people and we enjoyed the easy trail on our own. The main attraction is General Grant tree, which is the second largest living being on earth, it's just huge. There are many other giant sequoia which you can see in this trail. Absolutely must for everyone, an experience of lifetime.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Toddler's 1st Snow Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Ok parents- are you wanting to give your tot their first snow experience- and not take a long windy, vomit inducing drive? Then look no further- Grants Grove Visitor Center MEADOW! Yup, just across from the Visitor Center and behind the restaurant (who serves the BEST ONION RINGS ever), is this large, vast, meadow. A winter wonderland for tots (and parents). You can park right next to the meadow, bundle your tot up, grab the sled (yup, take a sled) and your camera. People have created small slopes to sled down, perfect for the little ones. My husband and my 2 year old got into a torpedo type sled (the basic ones you find at Walmart) and had a blast going up and down it. Nothing too dangerous about it...it was more of a slope than a "hill". When my tot got done trying to make snowballs we ventured into the Visitors Center to warm up (awesome place to check out) and then walked over to the restaurant and had lunch. I did write a review about the restaurant- good prices, good food (onion rings, I can't stress this enough). Most people were picnicking...with your car being right there- no problem. We only spent about 90 minutes in the snow, the rest was walking around, eating lunch, etc. Let's be real- a toddler can handle so much before naptime :) He then passed out snoring before we left the parking lot.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, IL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Exceptional and Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

After a long day of traveling and numerous stops...one more to see General Grant. Loved the uniqueness of each tree and the history of them. It was a great way to end our visit to the parks.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant Grove also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Grant Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.