We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional and Unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Grove

Grant Grove
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Camping, Cross-country skiing, Snow-shoeing, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Inside Kings Canyon National Park is this grove of giant Sequoias.
Morris, IL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exceptional and Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

After a long day of traveling and numerous stops...one more to see General Grant. Loved the uniqueness of each tree and the history of them. It was a great way to end our visit to the parks.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    31
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Suprised by food quality, a little high priced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Ate several meals at the Grant Grove during a recent stay at John Muir Lodge and we were suprised that for the most part the food was actually pretty good. Service was good and the only negative was that prices were high.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“weekend getaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Area is great...lots of history and museum. Weather is usually sunny..sometimes snow. We go several times a year as I have a friend who owns a cabin. Friendly area and convenient since I live only about an hour away. Everyone should experience Grant Grove.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Uncrowded hike near Grant Grove”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Grant Grove (sequoias) is a less-crowded alternative to Sequoia N.P. (which is a drive to the south). Even so, this short paved trail can also be crowded; and you are fenced away from most of the redwood trees (to protect root systems). Want a quiet hike? Want to touch a redwood? Walk to the end of the "bus parking lot" (past the two joined redwoods). Walk past the locked gate and follow the signs on the "North Loop" trail. You'll hike down a fern-dotted drainage and circle through shady forested areas; eventually back uphill to the beginning. The slopes are not severe, and the hike can be done in about an hour. Relax, and enjoy the big trees. Take water, as summer days can get warm. The best part is standing under these massive trees, and touching the yard-thick flaky bark. My daughter and I even saw a spotted owl on one hike here. I rarely see more than 3-4 people, and often nobody.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a great grove to walk through. The trees are so large. The dogwood trees were turning red and the fall colors were just poping out.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant Grove also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Grant Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.