We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprised by food quality, a little high priced.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Grove

Grant Grove
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Inside Kings Canyon National Park is this grove of giant Sequoias.
San Diego
Level Contributor
139 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Suprised by food quality, a little high priced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Ate several meals at the Grant Grove during a recent stay at John Muir Lodge and we were suprised that for the most part the food was actually pretty good. Service was good and the only negative was that prices were high.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank parisienfoodisgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tulare
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“weekend getaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Area is great...lots of history and museum. Weather is usually sunny..sometimes snow. We go several times a year as I have a friend who owns a cabin. Friendly area and convenient since I live only about an hour away. Everyone should experience Grant Grove.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Melva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Uncrowded hike near Grant Grove”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Grant Grove (sequoias) is a less-crowded alternative to Sequoia N.P. (which is a drive to the south). Even so, this short paved trail can also be crowded; and you are fenced away from most of the redwood trees (to protect root systems). Want a quiet hike? Want to touch a redwood? Walk to the end of the "bus parking lot" (past the two joined redwoods). Walk past the locked gate and follow the signs on the "North Loop" trail. You'll hike down a fern-dotted drainage and circle through shady forested areas; eventually back uphill to the beginning. The slopes are not severe, and the hike can be done in about an hour. Relax, and enjoy the big trees. Take water, as summer days can get warm. The best part is standing under these massive trees, and touching the yard-thick flaky bark. My daughter and I even saw a spotted owl on one hike here. I rarely see more than 3-4 people, and often nobody.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a great grove to walk through. The trees are so large. The dogwood trees were turning red and the fall colors were just poping out.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yellow Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodfish, California, United States
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“HUGE trees and clean air make it worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

When my five year old grand daughter saw the General Grant tree she stopped in her tracks. It was so funny and made me get all teary eyed too. Its still a pretty huge tree to adults but to a kid it is colossal. We had a great day walking through so many other parts of the park. Great to see these things through new eyes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant Grove also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Grant Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing