We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go at sunrise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Panoramic Point

Panoramic Point
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Update attraction details
Type: Trails, Cross-country Ski Areas, Lookouts
Activities: Hiking
Attraction Details
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Go at sunrise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

There wasn't any sign for the road, and it was still dark as we headed up. There wasn't anyone else there for the breathtaking view and that made even more special.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powers Lake
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Worth the windy drive up there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was top 3 stop in the park for us along with Moro Rock and Congress Trail (Sherman Tree loop). Catch it at sunset for a great view. Make sure to call ahead to insure the road up there is open.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A must to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We went to the point early in the morning, just after sunrise. We were the only people there, the fog had just cleared, and the views were amazing - well worth the slippery walk up the path (after a light snow the night before).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We hiked this twice and both times we had the trail to ourselves. The second time we went, we went early and brought coffee and watched the sun come up over the mountains.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
511 reviews 511 reviews
308 attraction reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
442 helpful votes 442 helpful votes
“Panoramic feast.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a ‘must see’ overlook when visiting Kings Canyon and the road of the same name winds resolutely on a short narrow lane to the main viewpoint. Driving slowly (you need to in any case) you may get the chance to see some of the local wildlife.

At the car park it is only a ¼ mile walk up a gentle slope to the viewpoint. We were absolutely overwhelmed with the stunning mountain peaks and the valleys spread out before us!

There are a couple of benches to sit on but we rambled over some boulders nearer the edge (not too close though) and just sat on the rocks watching the dusk settling over this panoramic feast.

Consider a 2.5-mile hike to the Park Ridge Fire Lookout during the daylight hours where you can climb the tower for some more superb views. Unfortunately we didn’t have the time to hike this trail even though the weather was perfect.

Enjoy your visit!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panoramic Point also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Panoramic Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panoramic Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.