We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Americana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Canyon Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Kings Canyon Lodge
Save Saved
You added Kings Canyon Lodge to your Saves list
67741 Kings Canyon Road, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Snowmass Village, Colorado
1 review
“Great Americana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

America is a great and fabulous country and Kings Canyon Lodge is the best of the days of America gone by! This is rustic, clean, decent food, authentic and spectacular scenery. Owner Louis cooks up some good food and as you sit at the bar and enjoy your food and a good chocolate shake after a long day of spectacular hiking ---you thanks your lucky stars for finding the Kings Canyon Lodge. It had power-- which our park lodge in Kings Canyon did not---running on generators-so no hot food available and we left and went here. Cabins were basic but good, peaceful and relaxing! Stay here and step back in time in America!

Room Tip: Stay in the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    3
    0
    13
See reviews for
12
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a rustic, simple, real-life place. No internet or cel coverage. Owner Louis is an authentic human being who is not going to pamper you or respond well to unrealistic expectations. It's out in the wilderness; gas is more expensive. If you want a comfortable, spartan cabin with good beds, clean sheets and towels, home cooked food and cold drinks you will enjoy this place. If you want four star, go elsewhere. Take the time to sit and watch the hummingbirds flit around the feeders. Breathe mountain air at night under bright stars; it will refresh your spirit.

Room Tip: Give yourself time to appreciate the rustic nature of this place. Great base camp from which to ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

As I read some of the negative reviews I cannot help but think that people are spoiled by life, always expecting "more", never slowing down enough to just enjoy where they are.
To enjoy Kings Canyon Lodge you must realize that you are in the middle of one of God's greatest creations, Kings Canyon. The beauty of Kings Canyon is that it is hard to get to and it is on a road "less traveled". This is not the Four Seasons but it is quaint and rustic making it seem like it truly belongs exactly where it is. The rooms are clean and functional, the beds comfortable. It is quiet and peaceful and as you drift off to sleep with the windows open you are caressed by the wind that, thankfully, cool the canyon at night. The leaves on the trees whisper in the wind, reminding me of waves lapping the shore at the ocean's edge. This is the beauty of the canyon and why I love this place. To enjoy this without sleeping in the dirt is a gift.
Those who complain about the price of gas at Kins Canyon Lodge, pumped by very old gravity flow units, fail to realize what it takes, and costs, to deliver gas to this remote location. Gas at Hume Lake, about 13 miles east is similarly priced. Instead of complaining about the cost of ice cream it would be better to enjoy the fact that you can have ice cream at all in the middle of nowhere.
Rather than complain about the demeanor of the proprietors just slow down and enjoy them. Luis is an interesting man who grew up here. He is bright and articulate with an "old school" view of the world that is refreshing and his wisdom, brought by years of living in the canyon, is shared with all who have the time and inclination to listen. He seems like the kind of man who enjoys a slow simple life and so his annoyance with people who let their kids run wild or their dogs pee on anything is not surprising. He is equally annoyed by those who stop just to use the bathroom without being a paying customer, as I would be if I were in his shoes. This isn't the city with a sewer system but rather uses a septic tank system which I'm sure is expensive to clean when full. If you buy an ice cream, gas, or a soda you are welcome to use the restroom, as it should be.
So, for those who enjoy real peace and quiet in a rustic environment Kings Canyon Lodge is a great place to stay. Just don't go expecting The Four Seasons resort experience. You will be rewarded with a unique experience that money can't buy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma county, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

It cracks me up to read that this is a "quaint, rustic lodge". What a pit. Don't use the bathroom outside of the store. It is worse then the filthiest gas station bathroom you've ever been in. No tp, soap or paper to dry your hands. Owner rude.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The location cannot be bettered but the cabin accommodation is very run down (or at least our cabin was, I cannot comment on the other cabins which had been occupied before we arrived). This is the nearest lodgings to Kings Canyon itself, middle of nowhere, very relaxing. The lady owner is honest about her basic lodgings and very friendly. The bed and the shower were clean, but the remainder of the cabin was falling apart: the patio door came off in my hands when I tried to shut it! We stayed two nights and would stay again simply because of the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Kings Canyon Lodge. Situated near Cedar Grove and the trailhead for the Rae Lakes Loop, it was the perfect place to get ready the night before going into the backcountry for a week of hiking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had a nice stay here for one night with the family. The atmosphere is peaceful and full of charm, and the location is beautiful. The owner Lewis was very courteous and made a nice breakfast. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Lodge

Address: 67741 Kings Canyon Road, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Canyon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.