We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience @ KCL!! Peaceful closeness to Nature in a rustic setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Canyon Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kings Canyon Lodge
67741 Kings Canyon Road, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Fresno, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience @ KCL!! Peaceful closeness to Nature in a rustic setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a delightful weekend at this charming, rustic KC Lodge, nestled in the heart of the Kings Canyon/Sequoia National Parks. We loved it there! We stayed in a cozy, knotty pine cottage with our own bathroom and a small patio facing a lovely meadow and surrounded by the majestic Sierras. We had several simple and great meals, yummy ice cream cones, and good visits with the owners, Carla and Lewis. Though quiet by nature, they were both friendly and helpful. During the day, we easily traveled to Grizzly Falls, passed Boyden Caverns (we’d been there before), and on to Cedar Grove. We had a peaceful picnic on some rocks with the Kings River rushing below our perch. Later, we returned to KC Lodge and sipped wine on our patio, under a canopy of brilliant stars and a chorus of singing crickets.
It frustrates me that a few other reviewers, who apparently don’t like rustic, or simple peacefulness without all the modern gadgets and conveniences, can be so maliciously critical, hurting others because their expectations were not met. We wanted to be close to the wilderness, not lodged in a modern high-rise with TVs, wi-fi, cell phones, swimming pools, etc. (KC Lodge does not have these amenities—and that’s a plus!) We visited with several other people who had stayed the night at KC Lodge. One from Russia, another from Taiwan, others from Germany and France and Poland. Each one loved this place, its simple beauty, its closeness to Nature, and its location.
So “bah-humbug” to the “bah-humbuggers!” We shall eagerly return!!

Room Tip: There is some generator noise near the lodge. We liked looking out the back of our cabin and seeing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    3
    0
    12
See reviews for
11
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

July 20, 2013- Nice to get away from all the World's busy- ness! No phone reception. No TV. No computers. If this is what you want, this is the place for you! If you need gadgets, you probably won't be happy. We found clean quarters. Food was good. If you take time to talk with owner (male owner), we found he was kind and was able to share history of area. He seems to just have a quiet personality. If we go to King's
Canyon again, we would not hesitate to stay there!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

we have stayed at kings canyon lodge 3 times now. There's no Wi-Fi, no televisions,no phones.Sorry kids no cell phone reception.We had clean sheets on a comfortable bed,and clean towels.The room is rustic and has character.Our son was worried about not being able to get messages on his cell phone. But it turned out real nice we hung out on the patio saw a lot of beautiful stars talked to other guest and spent time together as a family and really enjoyed each others company In the morning we woke up to a beautiful day.Had a nice breakfast. Can't wait to do again even our son enjoyed his stay even without his cell phone.Hey fishing the king river was great too!!! Thank you Carla, and Lew for hospitality. this is country life not city life See you in September

Room Tip: any room its not a holiday inn it country living
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This Lodge is one of the best in all 3 parks ! If you are looking for cosy quiet place with shower in your room, this is the best you can find ! In the middle btw Sequoia's and beautiful Kings Canyon, you just need one convertible car and you gonna have full experience ! Owners are very nice but to realize this, instead just being a guest, try to talk to them and you'll see that there are very helpful and kind and they are putting a lot of effort to run this place ! Food is cheep if you compare it with rest of the park and you gonna get real homemade american breakfast ! First impesion may be tricky but at the end you gonna love this place !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We recently stayed at King's Canyon Lodge. We found the cabin very comfortable and quite clean. It is a mountain cabin and not a Hilton Inn. Their food was delicious at the lodge and the owners, Lewis and Carla were very courteous and friendly. Their hummingbirds were amazing and they have America's Oldest double gravity gas pumps (from 1928) there and they still work!

We found it quaint and would stay there again. Oh, and by the way, the prices were about the best in the Sequoia NP or Kings Canyon NP area.

Room Tip: The two bed cabin is where we stayed. It was comfortable and clean. Unit #2. They are older cabins a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

The only good thing is location otherwise avoid at all cost!! The people were scary Something out of "Deliverence". It was dirty and just really weird... The price for a single scoop cone of questionable quality was 2.50. The bathroom was disgusting

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels

Australia
Top Contributor
511 reviews 511 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
459 helpful votes 459 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We pulled up here after a day seeing Kings Canyon but were not staying the night. For future reference we spoke to the manager about rates and opening/closing dates. She advised that along with the rustic cabins there was a modern ‘home’ up on the ridge.

The woman seemed a little brusque and suspicious to us, (especially asking about the rates) which is in opposition to our anticipation of ‘hospitality’ in this industry. It’s remote here and nothing else outside of Cedar Grove/Grant Grove for lodging and food so why the wariness of getting some business for the lodge?

However we did go into the quaint and unusual office/restaurant area that is filled to overflowing with quirky paraphernalia! The young girl serving us our yummy ice creams (three flavours only - vanilla, chocolate and strawberry) was a little happier and chatted to us while we watched the busy hummingbirds out near the picnic tables.

We used the handy restrooms but we suspect they would be none too happy if you walked in without using or paying for a service – food, lodging or gas. (to be expected I guess). There are plenty of signs around stating 'don’t do this or that’ and a sign asking not to take a photo of the old gas pumps (without paying for gas?).

As quaint and beautifully positioned this Lodge is we just didn’t feel comfortable with the attitude of the people running it. We are very easy going but the owners and the word ’welcome’ don’t quite match. But, make up your own mind, she could have been just having an ‘off day’.

Enjoy your stay, meal or ice cream!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kings Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Lodge

Address: 67741 Kings Canyon Road, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Specialty lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Canyon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kings Canyon Lodge to your Saves list