We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on what you are looking for.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Canyon Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kings Canyon Lodge
67741 Kings Canyon Road, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Dripping Springs, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Depends on what you are looking for.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and two sons and I took off for a 3600 mile road trip which took us through places including Kings Canyon. What a beautiful place and especially in the evening. We weren't camping so we winged a room every night. From Texas to Arizona, to California, to New Mexico we never had any issues finding a room. Of course the Sequoias National Park lodging was all booked up and packed with tourist. We decided to head down to Kings Canyon for the second half of the day knowing we would need to come back up and out of the parks to find a place to stay and THEN return if we wanted to see much more of the parks we hadn't seen yet. On the way down Kings Canyon we stopped and checked on a room here. Its nothing fancy, clean beds, nice little balcony looking at the canyon wall on our room to the top right side facing the lodge entrance. Clean bathroom and hot water in the shower. NO INTERNET or cell phone coverage which I thought was a PLUS! No TV another plus. No AC but it got plenty cool in the evening even in late July. It was a very quiet peaceful night sleep for a reasonable rate considering the location. We were up early and back into the Sequoias within 15min. If you have been you know it could be well over a grueling hr ride up to the Sequoias after entering the park.
So its all about what you are looking for and if its a place to put your feet up in the middle of a peaceful and BEAUTIFUL fresh air nowhere and enjoy a nice drink and a stogie (or whatever is relaxing for you) on a quiet deck as the sun creeps away from the canyon walls and following that with a quiet nights sleep and an early start then I say bah to all the naysayers that have given this little treasure bad reviews. Great little find and a good quiet hub to see more of both Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks on short notice without camping.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    3
    0
    12
See reviews for
11
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

First, let me remind the reviewers herein that the Kings Canyon Scenic Byway, on which this property sits, is 30+ miles long and that this lodge sits beyond the gate where they close the highway several months a year. It's in the middle of nowhere, literally. Don't be dumb, don't expect much. This place is the only game in town for 20+ miles. It's not a Hilton, it's not even a Motel 6. It's very basic necessities only accommodations. Our room, on the top right side of the main (restaurant) building was clean and functional. One of the mattresses was a bit tired. And yes, it would seem the proprietor has rules, and is a proud Christian - good for him, it's his place. If you're high maintainence and need a hot tub and a real chef, drive 50 miles down 180 towards Fresno. If you're low maintainence, you'll be fine here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

When all the other places were booked for the night in sequoia we were the only ones staying at this lodge. We called ahead the check availability and lucky we did as they had a room $120 for 2 beds/3ppl. Not bad considering the location. The valley it's in is beautiful and the historic cabins fit the surroundings, however the conveniences and furnishings could be updated for added comfort. The place was clean but rustic with very old light and plumbing fixtures. The hosts were perfectly nice at breakfast though there isn't a wide choice of foods and prices reflect the remoteness of the location. It's an option though not a top choice in the region. If the owners had the ability to upgrade a little and renovate to historic decor this place could be cool.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Two couples, first time to Kings Canyon. Great piece of history with great host. Old 30's fishing lodge very clean and neat and comforable. the people who own and operate the lodge were outstanding. The old gentleman knew the history of the lodge and surrounding area like the back of his hand and really enjoyed getting a slice of history about the area. I plan to make this a regular stop when I am in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

If you want a great base to explore Kings Canyon (and the Cedar Lodge is full), this is your only option. There were no bed bugs and a crazed axe murderer did not break in to kill us during the night.

Other than that, there is little to recommend the Kings Canyon Lodge to the visiting tourist.

If you were wondering what a lodge run by an American/Christian version of the Taliban’s Ministry for the Promotion of Virtue and Prevention of Vice would be like, look no further.

The Lodge offers a Spartan (but clean) version of what lodging would look like in a Mad Max post-apocalyptic world where the management thinks it their mission to tell you how to behave. It is hard to see the Lodge itself, given the proclivity of management to paper almost all available spaces with injunctions against poor behavior and admonishments to follow the right path.

What you get is a no-frills room with a bare light bulb in the ceiling and proactive notices not to move furniture, cook in the room, bring additional people into the room or take photographs without permission of the fuel pump outside. It is not that any of the injunctions are, in themselves, patently unreasonable. It does, however, highlight the general feel of hospitality that is offered as a matter of course in every other place I’ve spent a night.

Despite making it through the night and being able to easily explore the drop dead gorgeous scenery of Kings Canyon, I doubt I would stay at this facility again.

Room Tip: Some cabins are right next to the road. However, the road is seldom used at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels

Kingsburg, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We did a spontaneous trip to Kings Canyon and knew that we would be lucky to find a place to stay, but we found this place on the National Park web site. Even thought there was a disclaimer about the Park Service not guaranteeing anything, we decided to book it. When we got there, what we can only presume to be the owner was rude and unpleasant and after a bit of begging from us decide that he would open the "restaurant" and serve us very expensive hamburgers.

I made the mistake to using the bathroom, which looked like it had not been cleaned in a while and was plugged with feces floating in the toilet.

Unfortunately, this was after we had paid for the night. When we got to our place, we found burned out lights (we had to find one that worked to light the stairs), light switches you had to play with to get lights to come on, a slow leaking gas stove (could smell the gas). Fortunately, the beds had clean sheets and the bathroom had been cleaned.

Returning the next morning to try to get breakfast, we were greeted by again what we thought was the owner, who was drinking coffee and not making any effort to open the place to eat. Walking past the "old" fashioned gas pumps we noticed the sign that said "No Pictures without Permission." That summed up the whole experience.

Rude, overpriced, questionable sanitation. Overall a terrible place to stay in a most beautiful place!!

Room Tip: Find someplace else to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We family of 4 booked our stay here. Called up 3 weeks before and made reservation over phone by giving my credit card number. The price was too high but we liked the place where the lodge located so we agreed to the price. No confirmation given and the person said use your first name as your confirmation. Then the week we are suppose to travel there was thunderstorm and so we planned to cancel our stay and called up and said we would like to cancel. The guy @ the hotel now introducing that now I have to pay for cancellation service which is 20% for each day and thus I will be losing 40%. I told them that no one told me about any cancellation policy The guy over there was very ademant that his father who is the boss for the property always tells the cancellation policy to everyone and so he is going to charge my card with 40% cancellation fees.
I told him that I will rise the issue with VISA that you are conducting a business with fraud motivation and I warned him that any charge to my card. I called up VISA and they said they will take care of things if that propery charges me cancellation since they did not disclose their policy in writing by any means like email etc.

So never book your stay there as you will never know what rules they will come up with any time...

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kings Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Lodge

Address: 67741 Kings Canyon Road, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Canyon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kings Canyon Lodge to your Saves list