We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems a struggling business.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Canyon Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kings Canyon Lodge
Save
You added Kings Canyon Lodge to your Saves list
67741 Kings Canyon Road, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Seems a struggling business.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

When all the other places were booked for the night in sequoia we were the only ones staying at this lodge. We called ahead the check availability and lucky we did as they had a room $120 for 2 beds/3ppl. Not bad considering the location. The valley it's in is beautiful and the historic cabins fit the surroundings, however the conveniences and furnishings could be updated for added comfort. The place was clean but rustic with very old light and plumbing fixtures. The hosts were perfectly nice at breakfast though there isn't a wide choice of foods and prices reflect the remoteness of the location. It's an option though not a top choice in the region. If the owners had the ability to upgrade a little and renovate to historic decor this place could be cool.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    3
    0
    13
See reviews for
12
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Two couples, first time to Kings Canyon. Great piece of history with great host. Old 30's fishing lodge very clean and neat and comforable. the people who own and operate the lodge were outstanding. The old gentleman knew the history of the lodge and surrounding area like the back of his hand and really enjoyed getting a slice of history about the area. I plan to make this a regular stop when I am in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

If you want a great base to explore Kings Canyon (and the Cedar Lodge is full), this is your only option. There were no bed bugs and a crazed axe murderer did not break in to kill us during the night.

Other than that, there is little to recommend the Kings Canyon Lodge to the visiting tourist.

If you were wondering what a lodge run by an American/Christian version of the Taliban’s Ministry for the Promotion of Virtue and Prevention of Vice would be like, look no further.

The Lodge offers a Spartan (but clean) version of what lodging would look like in a Mad Max post-apocalyptic world where the management thinks it their mission to tell you how to behave. It is hard to see the Lodge itself, given the proclivity of management to paper almost all available spaces with injunctions against poor behavior and admonishments to follow the right path.

What you get is a no-frills room with a bare light bulb in the ceiling and proactive notices not to move furniture, cook in the room, bring additional people into the room or take photographs without permission of the fuel pump outside. It is not that any of the injunctions are, in themselves, patently unreasonable. It does, however, highlight the general feel of hospitality that is offered as a matter of course in every other place I’ve spent a night.

Despite making it through the night and being able to easily explore the drop dead gorgeous scenery of Kings Canyon, I doubt I would stay at this facility again.

Room Tip: Some cabins are right next to the road. However, the road is seldom used at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels

Kingsburg, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We did a spontaneous trip to Kings Canyon and knew that we would be lucky to find a place to stay, but we found this place on the National Park web site. Even thought there was a disclaimer about the Park Service not guaranteeing anything, we decided to book it. When we got there, what we can only presume to be the owner was rude and unpleasant and after a bit of begging from us decide that he would open the "restaurant" and serve us very expensive hamburgers.

I made the mistake to using the bathroom, which looked like it had not been cleaned in a while and was plugged with feces floating in the toilet.

Unfortunately, this was after we had paid for the night. When we got to our place, we found burned out lights (we had to find one that worked to light the stairs), light switches you had to play with to get lights to come on, a slow leaking gas stove (could smell the gas). Fortunately, the beds had clean sheets and the bathroom had been cleaned.

Returning the next morning to try to get breakfast, we were greeted by again what we thought was the owner, who was drinking coffee and not making any effort to open the place to eat. Walking past the "old" fashioned gas pumps we noticed the sign that said "No Pictures without Permission." That summed up the whole experience.

Rude, overpriced, questionable sanitation. Overall a terrible place to stay in a most beautiful place!!

Room Tip: Find someplace else to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We family of 4 booked our stay here. Called up 3 weeks before and made reservation over phone by giving my credit card number. The price was too high but we liked the place where the lodge located so we agreed to the price. No confirmation given and the person said use your first name as your confirmation. Then the week we are suppose to travel there was thunderstorm and so we planned to cancel our stay and called up and said we would like to cancel. The guy @ the hotel now introducing that now I have to pay for cancellation service which is 20% for each day and thus I will be losing 40%. I told them that no one told me about any cancellation policy The guy over there was very ademant that his father who is the boss for the property always tells the cancellation policy to everyone and so he is going to charge my card with 40% cancellation fees.
I told him that I will rise the issue with VISA that you are conducting a business with fraud motivation and I warned him that any charge to my card. I called up VISA and they said they will take care of things if that propery charges me cancellation since they did not disclose their policy in writing by any means like email etc.

So never book your stay there as you will never know what rules they will come up with any time...

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

this place is totally sketchy - no locks on the doors either. i would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

The young males running this overpriced accomodation do not care about your safty or fairness. After mocking me for not having chains in my rental car they refused to reimpurse me even though the overprised lodge was 90 percent empty .

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Lodge

Address: 67741 Kings Canyon Road, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Canyon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.