We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Sherman Tree

General Sherman Tree
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: An 249.9 foot ancient tree believed to be between 2,300 and 2,700 years old.
Cedarville, Michigan
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Okay, we thought big trees, big deal but ....this tree is a BIG deal. It is huge! Wonderful informational signs along the trail that put this tree into perspective as well as gives info on sequoias. So happy we stopped.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    110
    21
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Get there early”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I hiked down to the General Sherman Tree early in the morning, and were able to enjoy it without the crowds. Also interesting is the viewing area just before you get to the tree where the footprint of the tree is bricked on the ground; this really gives you an idea of how big the tree is!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Always look up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

God bless this place. I'll tell ya, I've grown up this these here woods and there is never a time where you lay eyes on this place, these trees and don't loose your breath. I was up there a few years back and just after the winter ended and the snow fall was massive that year. The result of all the snow caused a branch from this tree to break and come down. Well thank God it was winter and no one was on the pathway looking up for they would have been mush.
The branch was wider around than most other huge pine trees and I now have a piece of it's bark on my desk to remind me how lucky I was that day.
This is a must see place if you live within a million miles of Calif.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“This is a must.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Big trees! Wow, you will be amazed at the size of the trees, and the wildlife. We can just walk thru the woods and come across beautiful deers. My husband can spend hours just taking pictures.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Big is such an understatement.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It is just staggering how large this tree is. Look for the plaque close to the winter parking lot. It is .2 miles away and provides the most complete view of the tree. People are just blips of color, so if you want your picture with the whole tree, wear a standout color. You can point to that spec of color at the base of the tree.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Sherman Tree also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to General Sherman Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Sherman Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added General Sherman Tree to your Saves list