We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Sherman Tree

General Sherman Tree
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An 249.9 foot ancient tree believed to be between 2,300 and 2,700 years old.
Cedarville, Michigan
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Okay, we thought big trees, big deal but ....this tree is a BIG deal. It is huge! Wonderful informational signs along the trail that put this tree into perspective as well as gives info on sequoias. So happy we stopped.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    175
    33
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
215 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Get there early”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I hiked down to the General Sherman Tree early in the morning, and were able to enjoy it without the crowds. Also interesting is the viewing area just before you get to the tree where the footprint of the tree is bricked on the ground; this really gives you an idea of how big the tree is!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Always look up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

God bless this place. I'll tell ya, I've grown up this these here woods and there is never a time where you lay eyes on this place, these trees and don't loose your breath. I was up there a few years back and just after the winter ended and the snow fall was massive that year. The result of all the snow caused a branch from this tree to break and come down. Well thank God it was winter and no one was on the pathway looking up for they would have been mush.
The branch was wider around than most other huge pine trees and I now have a piece of it's bark on my desk to remind me how lucky I was that day.
This is a must see place if you live within a million miles of Calif.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This is a must.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Big trees! Wow, you will be amazed at the size of the trees, and the wildlife. We can just walk thru the woods and come across beautiful deers. My husband can spend hours just taking pictures.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big is such an understatement.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It is just staggering how large this tree is. Look for the plaque close to the winter parking lot. It is .2 miles away and provides the most complete view of the tree. People are just blips of color, so if you want your picture with the whole tree, wear a standout color. You can point to that spec of color at the base of the tree.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Sherman Tree also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to General Sherman Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Sherman Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.