We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“General Sherman Tree, Sequoia National Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Sherman Tree

General Sherman Tree
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: An 249.9 foot ancient tree believed to be between 2,300 and 2,700 years old.
Ridgecrest, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“General Sherman Tree, Sequoia National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The largest tree in the world, by volume. It's 39 ft. in diameter and over 200+ feet tall. You can't touch it anymore, but a nice trail leads to the tree and you can walk around the giant to get an idea of its size.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    124
    26
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great little walk to see a fabulous giant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

But if you are going in winter, as we just did, bring a set of traction devices like STABILicers, Yaktrax and the like - a good investment! Snowshoes are overkill for the short walk to the tree - though a FABULOUS choice for continuing further to the Congress Grove and beyond!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“tree hugging fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

this was an incredible place. It was covered in snow when we went and we had to hire chains before entering the national park. Luckily we had a 4x4 so we didn't have to use them but you still need to carry them. You can rent them in three rivers for $40. A must!! we stayed up at wukasachi lodge for the night and waking up to snow outside was incredible...coming from an Australian that has only seen snow a few times. Nice easy walk on the general Sherman trail. Would have helped if we had snow shoes/boots.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

What a monster. If you are in Sequoia then you must see general sherman. It is a massive tree. Nothing else to say really!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catawissa, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Easy Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Easy walk. Unbelievable! It is just awesome to see this huge tree and can't believe it is over 3000 years old.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Sherman Tree also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to General Sherman Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Sherman Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.