We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful campground!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azalea Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Azalea Campground
Save Saved
You added Azalea Campground to your Saves list
Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful campground!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We tent camped 3 nights at Azalea. We had site 58 which was very large, but was far from the bathrooms. We had our pick from several sites since the campground was not very crowded. You can't make reservations it is first come first serve and you just put your money in an envelope and drop it in a box at the campground. You will need exact cash($18 per night) or you can write a check. You do have to drive over to Grant Grove to get a shower. They tell you the shower hours are from 11 am - 4 pm but you can go whenever you want. The shower is $1 for 3 minutes, my water was never hot but it wasn't cold either. The campground is at a great locaation for easy access to Kings Canyon or Sequoia.

Room Tip: Sites 60 & 65 looked to be the best in the campground but they were already taken.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our trip was a quick getaway for a birthday in April 2013. We arrived Friday late afternoon. The spots we wanted were already occupied and a section of the campsite was closed. But, after a few rounds and a few "discussions", we found a perfect spot. Site 65. It sits on a hill, but there are leveled out sections that were perfect for our tents. Lots of privacy since there is only one neighboring site. Our neighboring site, Site 64, was very spacious and had a beautiful view. Plenty of trees that provided plenty of shade during the day.

First come first serve. No showers, but they are a walk/drive away (though they were not open when we went). Fire pit, picnic bench, and bear box at each site. Fill up your tank before you drive in...gas is cheaper in the surrounding towns which is about an hour away. Campsite pay station dropbox takes cash only. Campsite is in the National Park, so there is an entrance fee of $20/car. The entrance ticket is valid for 7 days and must be shown upon exit.

We loved this campsite and will be coming back...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of May 2013. We arrived on Friday around noon on May 24th and stayed until Monday the 27th. It was $18 per night. Make sure to bring the correct amount of CASH because you cannot pay for this campsite with a credit card like some others. Also, note that some guidebooks (Fodor's) state that Azalea has showers. This is NOT true - as I discovered after driving around the campground and asking around like an idiot! There are showers in the nearby Grant Grove village area, but they are ONLY open to the public from 11am-4pm which didn't work for me. One night we drove down to Stony Creek (25 minutes away) to use their showers (hours 8am-8pm) $4 for 10 minutes.

My husband and I set up our tent in between three trees which was quite lovely. We stayed in site #95 near the meadow which was really pretty! The meadow has a shallow pool of water (as all the meadows in the parks do) so it's not great to play in, although I saw some college-aged kids throwing a football around in the meadow. I wouldn't encourage adults or children to play in the meadow because, although their are no signs, meadows are delicate environments which shouldn't be disturbed - also you never know what animals lurk within.

The park rangers were not very attentive to the campground, as compared to Potwisha where we stayed our first night. At Azalea, I didn't see a ranger on the way in and only saw them once or twice driving around in their vehicle. This is in contrast to Potwisha where the ranger made rounds on foot twice daily.

It was COLD when I was there in May - 42 degrees in the mornings. The water in the bathrooms is NOT warm - it was freezing! BRRR. They did have a sink to wash dishes in.

In terms of neighbors - we had some loud college-aged kids on one side and some screaming children on the other but people seemed to go to bed early so there were no quiet hour violations. Also the campsites were far enough away from one another that it wasn't very disruptive.

Overall recommended. I had a nice stay :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and were ecstatic with the location. No one was here! After the crowded campsites in Yosemite, we couldn't believe our good luck. First, let me say that this campground is for both RV's and tents. The website wasn't clear. Also, we tried to make reservations by phone and by Internet, but were unable to because our arrival date was within 2 days of our attempt. We decided to take our chances and found there were many sites open, only about 25% were occupied (keep in mind that this was mid-week, last week in April). The sites were first come, first serve, and self registered but this may not be the case during peak season. Check ahead. As stated, we were thrilled with the privacy, the large sites, and the solitude that we had been hoping for. Another writer said that site 60 was the campsite against which future sites would be measured, and they were right, although this site is for tents only. Someone was happily occupying this magnificent site with a sign that read, 'Zen Tent'. The last input I have is that there were no showers open at this time of year. Also no gas in the park except at Hume Lake and this is quite a drive although lake and hike around it are nice. Gas here is pricey at $5 per gallon and it cost us $122 to fill up.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Fretting that most of the campsites would be closed this time of year, we decided to drive the long way up from San Diego, bypass the 198 and go to the 180 and get a campsite at Azalea (as per the ranger that picked up the phone at the visitor center's suggestion.) I have to say I prefer Azalea now. It is much more secluded, sites are farther away from each other than at Lodgepole and the feeling of "being in the wilderness" is much more here. We arrived Friday at 8pm at night in the dense fog so we had a bit of trouble driving through Azalea and determining which site to pick and which was available. We found site 38 and we chose it because it was as far off the driving path as we could find. When we woke up, it was really fantastic with a view down the canyon. Close enough to walk to the bathrooms but very private. I didn't hear a car drive "the loop" looking for sites all weekend. Even though Dorth was closed, we walked down to the campsite and took pictures of the sites here we want for next summer. Dorth or Azalea in my mind is the way to go if you want the feel of being in the woods without all the other campers. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

I went to sequoia and kings canyon for the first time this past week and I was blown away. And to top it off our campground spot was fantastic. We stayed at spot number 65 which was one of the more secluded spots compared to the others - we were on the edge of a hill - but also wasn't too far (about 75 yards) from a bathroom which was nice.

The bear lockers were quite spacious but thankfully we didn't have any problems with them. And further we didn't have any problems with any other critters.

The park has showers which is nice if some of the people you are camping with aren't used to getting their feet a little dirty. Other reviews didn't make this too clear but they aren't at the campground, you need to go to the visitor center and they will direct you (as well as give you change for them, they are 1 dollar for 3 min). Nevertheless, they are very close to the visitor center and so is the campground. In total it's a 3 min drive.

Lastly, the bathrooms are pretty decent being flush and all but they dot have handsoap.

The only drawback is that the campground is 30 miles away from both the terminus into kings canyon and the main seqouia groves so I would say that this is a better choice if you prefer to visit both parks, otherwise I'd choose one in the park you are visiting if you plan at only staying at one.

Overall, I was quite satisfied and will be definitely returning again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This campground is THE BOMB if you are looking for a quiet location that is also close to amenities. There is a good variety of campsites and a tent only dedicated area. Decent bathroom locations but the fact that it is a short walk (on a beautiful trail) from both the Grant Grove Center (restaurant, store, showers, visitor center) and the Grant Grove Sequoia Trees is the biggest selling point. If you want a more raucous outgoing campground with opportunities to socialize stick to Lodgepole. But if you're looking for "peaceful ones" that are close to everything....this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azalea Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azalea Campground

Address: Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A scenic campground surrounded by sequoia trees and good hiking trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Azalea Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azalea Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.