We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Azalea won our hearts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azalea Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Azalea Campground
Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Azalea won our hearts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our trip was a quick getaway for a birthday in April 2013. We arrived Friday late afternoon. The spots we wanted were already occupied and a section of the campsite was closed. But, after a few rounds and a few "discussions", we found a perfect spot. Site 65. It sits on a hill, but there are leveled out sections that were perfect for our tents. Lots of privacy since there is only one neighboring site. Our neighboring site, Site 64, was very spacious and had a beautiful view. Plenty of trees that provided plenty of shade during the day.

First come first serve. No showers, but they are a walk/drive away (though they were not open when we went). Fire pit, picnic bench, and bear box at each site. Fill up your tank before you drive in...gas is cheaper in the surrounding towns which is about an hour away. Campsite pay station dropbox takes cash only. Campsite is in the National Park, so there is an entrance fee of $20/car. The entrance ticket is valid for 7 days and must be shown upon exit.

We loved this campsite and will be coming back...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of May 2013. We arrived on Friday around noon on May 24th and stayed until Monday the 27th. It was $18 per night. Make sure to bring the correct amount of CASH because you cannot pay for this campsite with a credit card like some others. Also, note that some guidebooks (Fodor's) state that Azalea has showers. This is NOT true - as I discovered after driving around the campground and asking around like an idiot! There are showers in the nearby Grant Grove village area, but they are ONLY open to the public from 11am-4pm which didn't work for me. One night we drove down to Stony Creek (25 minutes away) to use their showers (hours 8am-8pm) $4 for 10 minutes.

My husband and I set up our tent in between three trees which was quite lovely. We stayed in site #95 near the meadow which was really pretty! The meadow has a shallow pool of water (as all the meadows in the parks do) so it's not great to play in, although I saw some college-aged kids throwing a football around in the meadow. I wouldn't encourage adults or children to play in the meadow because, although their are no signs, meadows are delicate environments which shouldn't be disturbed - also you never know what animals lurk within.

The park rangers were not very attentive to the campground, as compared to Potwisha where we stayed our first night. At Azalea, I didn't see a ranger on the way in and only saw them once or twice driving around in their vehicle. This is in contrast to Potwisha where the ranger made rounds on foot twice daily.

It was COLD when I was there in May - 42 degrees in the mornings. The water in the bathrooms is NOT warm - it was freezing! BRRR. They did have a sink to wash dishes in.

In terms of neighbors - we had some loud college-aged kids on one side and some screaming children on the other but people seemed to go to bed early so there were no quiet hour violations. Also the campsites were far enough away from one another that it wasn't very disruptive.

Overall recommended. I had a nice stay :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and were ecstatic with the location. No one was here! After the crowded campsites in Yosemite, we couldn't believe our good luck. First, let me say that this campground is for both RV's and tents. The website wasn't clear. Also, we tried to make reservations by phone and by Internet, but were unable to because our arrival date was within 2 days of our attempt. We decided to take our chances and found there were many sites open, only about 25% were occupied (keep in mind that this was mid-week, last week in April). The sites were first come, first serve, and self registered but this may not be the case during peak season. Check ahead. As stated, we were thrilled with the privacy, the large sites, and the solitude that we had been hoping for. Another writer said that site 60 was the campsite against which future sites would be measured, and they were right, although this site is for tents only. Someone was happily occupying this magnificent site with a sign that read, 'Zen Tent'. The last input I have is that there were no showers open at this time of year. Also no gas in the park except at Hume Lake and this is quite a drive although lake and hike around it are nice. Gas here is pricey at $5 per gallon and it cost us $122 to fill up.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Fretting that most of the campsites would be closed this time of year, we decided to drive the long way up from San Diego, bypass the 198 and go to the 180 and get a campsite at Azalea (as per the ranger that picked up the phone at the visitor center's suggestion.) I have to say I prefer Azalea now. It is much more secluded, sites are farther away from each other than at Lodgepole and the feeling of "being in the wilderness" is much more here. We arrived Friday at 8pm at night in the dense fog so we had a bit of trouble driving through Azalea and determining which site to pick and which was available. We found site 38 and we chose it because it was as far off the driving path as we could find. When we woke up, it was really fantastic with a view down the canyon. Close enough to walk to the bathrooms but very private. I didn't hear a car drive "the loop" looking for sites all weekend. Even though Dorth was closed, we walked down to the campsite and took pictures of the sites here we want for next summer. Dorth or Azalea in my mind is the way to go if you want the feel of being in the woods without all the other campers. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

I went to sequoia and kings canyon for the first time this past week and I was blown away. And to top it off our campground spot was fantastic. We stayed at spot number 65 which was one of the more secluded spots compared to the others - we were on the edge of a hill - but also wasn't too far (about 75 yards) from a bathroom which was nice.

The bear lockers were quite spacious but thankfully we didn't have any problems with them. And further we didn't have any problems with any other critters.

The park has showers which is nice if some of the people you are camping with aren't used to getting their feet a little dirty. Other reviews didn't make this too clear but they aren't at the campground, you need to go to the visitor center and they will direct you (as well as give you change for them, they are 1 dollar for 3 min). Nevertheless, they are very close to the visitor center and so is the campground. In total it's a 3 min drive.

Lastly, the bathrooms are pretty decent being flush and all but they dot have handsoap.

The only drawback is that the campground is 30 miles away from both the terminus into kings canyon and the main seqouia groves so I would say that this is a better choice if you prefer to visit both parks, otherwise I'd choose one in the park you are visiting if you plan at only staying at one.

Overall, I was quite satisfied and will be definitely returning again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This campground is THE BOMB if you are looking for a quiet location that is also close to amenities. There is a good variety of campsites and a tent only dedicated area. Decent bathroom locations but the fact that it is a short walk (on a beautiful trail) from both the Grant Grove Center (restaurant, store, showers, visitor center) and the Grant Grove Sequoia Trees is the biggest selling point. If you want a more raucous outgoing campground with opportunities to socialize stick to Lodgepole. But if you're looking for "peaceful ones" that are close to everything....this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Our 3rd time here in 3 years leaves me feeling like an expert on the area. I hope my review can help you come prepared for an amazing time in our favorite National Park, and we hit alot of them. Seki (Sequoia & Kings Canyon) has ample camping. If you have camped in Yosemite, you no doubt have had to deal with the crowds and reservations. You can roll into Azalea on Friday at 6pm and have many amazing choices of open, first-come, first-served campsites. The privacy of some of the sites is unparalleled with what we have found everywhere we go. Every time, we find a better spot. Site #2 is great (2008). Site #37 was awesome (last year). Site #60 is the site that all future campsites for the rest of our lives will be measured against, with a caveat. There is not much room for an RV. If you have a tent...you will agree, as long as you don't mind a walk to the bathroom. Look up the site on a nps map online and you will notice the privacy. The whole area is on high ground and there are no streams, so bugs are not a problem, and there is almost no chance of bears. By the way, the park almost never has a problem with human-food conditioned bears (meaning, that bears don't see our camps, cars, or coolers as a food source). The bears here want to eat bugs in logs, berries on bushes, meadow grass, and acorns. They don't know about people food. Please do your part to keep it that way.

Grant Grove vs Cedar Grove vs Lodgepole, Dorst, and outlying other campgrounds:
Cedar Grove is lower elevation and is hotter in the summer. It has terrible conveniences and is at the end of the road in Kings. We met 2 campers that drove from Cedar Grove to Grant Grove just to shower (the ones in Cedar were closed). Only camp there if you plan to stay there or trek into the high country. I admit, having the Kings river rush through the campgrounds is appealing, though. Lodgepole has the best facilities, but is always crowded. There is a small river. This campground has the best chance at a bear visit, although rare. The showers are great. The visitors center is great. The unmistakable advantage in Lodgepole is you can use the free shuttle right from camp to get into the giant forest. Dorst is beautiful, but not near anything. A free shuttle gets you into the busy areas. The topography is diverse and we were astounded that some of the sites were considered usable because of the lack of flat area to set up. The small creeks mean you will get bugs, but also have a very rare chance of a bear visiting. Between Cedar Grove and Giant Forest, you will go in and out of park boundaries, which means there are US forest campgrounds and off road camping all over the area. Stony Creek is in the middle and has good shower and laundry facilities. Hume Lake is a beautiful reservation only campground in a young pine grove. It's a bit too cozy with neighbors for me. Ignore the foothill areas, where it's hotter and drier, with no or few pine trees.

Bring medium sized to small coolers and food boxes to make using the bear boxes simple. You need to store all food and other fragrant items (toothpaste, deodorant, diaper wipes, etc) in them. It can drive you nuts loading and unloading them multiple times each day. Come prepared for cold weather if you aren't here in July or August. We came on Memorial Day Weekend one time (May 28) and froze so bad that we drove to Fresno to get more cold weather gear. find time to hike around Crescent Meadow, regardless of your fitness level (except handicapped). The trails between Crescent Meadow and Sherman Tree are the most beautiful, quiet, and pristine hikes I have seen in the world. They are tons better than the paved and busy trails around the main attractions.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Azalea Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azalea Campground

Also Known As:
Azalea Campground Hotel
Azalea Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Address: Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A scenic campground surrounded by sequoia trees and good hiking trails. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azalea Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Azalea Campground to your Saves list