We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Campground in wonderful site of nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorst Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dorst Campground
Save Saved
You added Dorst Campground to your Saves list
Seven-and-a-half miles northwest of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
köln
1 review
“Great Campground in wonderful site of nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Beautiful site, friendly service, more or less clean restrooms, quiet at 10 pm, also not that busy at daytime, great starshine in the night!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

If you are looking for off the beaten path, Dorst is not it! We had reservations from Sunday til Wed and changed gears and campgrounds immediately upon arrival. It was like the Sequoia suburbs! Way too many people, RV's, etc....hard to get a taste of nature with the hum and buzz of so many bikes, kids, radios, etc.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, Ca
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

My family stayed at Dorst for 5 days and we had absolutely no complaints. It was a fantastic trip for the whole family. When you get there the rangers give you a good ten min. bear safety talk because Dorst does have many black bears. We did see 3 bears just outside of campground and heard there were bears wondering around at night but never felt we were in any danger. Just take care of your things and follow the rules and you won't have a problem. The Rangers were always driving around and were very polite. The kids loved it when the wind kicked up and the Sugar Pine trees were dropping the pinecones. We stayed in site 97. Beautiful spot, but barely any shade and could get very hot. Deer roamed the meadow morning and night and chipmunks everywhere.
Downfalls - The closest showers were at Stony Creek Lodge - 5 miles away. Also you will need to plan your day. Dorst is about 10 miles from General Sherman, because the road is so winding, this could take about 30 minutes.
We would definitely stay there again. We had absolutely no problems with other campers and by 11pm you could hear only the sounds on nature. There are creeks and hiking trails and everywhere you look it is absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calif
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

The campground is nice, but when we were at our site last weekend. A macho ranger screamed at me because I did not respond to him quickly. There were other campers all around us
and I did not know that he was speaking to us at first. He was about 30 ft from everyone shouting from his truck, and screamed out "respond when I am speaking to you!!!" He had no reason to scream, my husband that was with me is a retired firefighter and we are well aware of fire safety. Anyways, it was a 8 hr trip and that ruined our vacation.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

Dorst Campground was surprisingly great. Don't let weather reports fool you (most websites stated the temperature at the base of the mountain range, which is in the 100's F during the day), but at Dorst it was 25 degrees cooler.
You are in good proximity to several of Sequoia National Park's Sites, like Crystal Cave or the Giant Forest, plus there are several hiking trail heads directly from the campground. One thing to note, if you want to visit Crystal Cave, go early--on the weekends, mid-day and evening visits are booked up with groups as big as 50, and with all large groups of tourists, it's very annoying.
We saw a lot of wildlife on the way into the park and while staying at our campsite. The rangers are very strict and lecture everyone entering the campground about bears and mountain lions. Contrary to IsgCalifornia's claim that they did not do enough to protect campers, I personally saw them touring the entire grounds hourly, sometimes every 30 minutes. They would scold and cite campers that were lazy and left food out or left their bear boxes open. I think they did a good job, considering they had to deal with annoying novice campers.
There was a lot of wildlife (deer, bears, etc) near the campgrounds, but if you store your food in the locker, they will not bug you. IsgCalifornia over-exaggerated the danger, and it's safe for young children. The bears seemed more afraid of the campers than you'd expect. Follow the rangers advice and don't leave anything in your car or tent. It's pretty simple.
The elevation of the site is over 6000 feet, so be prepared for a lot less oxygen. You can feel a bit out of breath occasionally. Also, if you want to see something interesting, buy a bag of potato chips (prior to ascending the mountain), do not open it and leave it on your dash.
Some downsides: Like most campsites that provide water and flush toilets, the clientèle is comprised of mostly (about 60%) of weekend-campers that have little regard for their neighbors. It wasn't uncommon to hear a car alarm booming, radio blasting, generator growling, or offensive drunken conversation from your neighbors. It would be nice if they reserved a portion of the campground to be "quiet;" i.e. no radio, no generators, no loud discussions.
Also, the sites are only a few dozen feet apart, so you feel a bit like sardines. There is no under-growth, so a camper can see everyone else's site.

Other than that, I'd recommend Dorst.

  • Liked — Views, Wildlife, Hikes
  • Disliked — People, Tourists
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

My friend and I stayed at Dorst campground in Sequoia National Park recently (in 7/08). Between the two of us, we have 4 children, ranging in ages from 7 to 10. While the campground is beautiful and convienent (halfway between Lodgepole and Grant's Grove) we had bears in our campsite each night, even though we stored our food and other provisions in the bear proof lockers. We followed the rules and didn't leave out our food and trash, but campers in other campsites did not follow the rules, so we had bears coming through our campsite to access the messy ones. I don't feel the rangers at Dorst did enough to enforce the campground rules, and let some campers get away with repeatedly breaking them, which put everyone camping at Dorst in danger from the bears. In my opinion, some of the campers should have been asked to leave after repeatedly breaking the rules regarding storing their trash and food items. Also, not mentioned in the National Park website, there is a mountain lion that is currently making it's home in or near the Dorst campground. Along with the 10 minute bear talk, we were also informed about the mountain lion when we checked in at the ranger station at Dorst. The mountain lion was spotted every day while we were staying at Dorst. We were warned to keep our children very close, not to let them go exploring near our campsite because of this mountain lion. The bears in our campsite each and every night were unsettling enough. The mountain lion was just too much. We had a reservation for 4 nights, but left one day early because of the problems with the wildlife. I would definitely visit Sequioa again with my children, but I would not camp there -- the bears have learned that humans are a source of easy food and is just not safe to camp there any longer. I should mention that I have camped extensively, including camping in Sequioa many years ago, when bears were not such a big problem. The bear problem is so bad now that it really ruins the experience.

  • Liked — Beautiful location
  • Disliked — The bears and mountain lion
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

I really enjoyed Dorst Campground. We stayed at site 156. It was really huge. We had an RV and two tents. The spot was near an embankment that went down to a small creek. One of the guys we went with went fishing in the creek and caught some small fish. There was not a whole lot of shade during the day, but some closer near the trees. The first morning we were there deer wandered through our campsite! Check out the campground map, and you will be able to pick out a great campsite. Some of them are really close together. 160 looked nice too, it would be big enough for a tent and car, but not much else.

  • Liked — The location, beautiful trees
  • Disliked — Have to drive to different areas of the park. However, we did go on a nice hike from the campground.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorst Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorst Campground

Address: Seven-and-a-half miles northwest of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorst Campground has 204 campsites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dorst Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorst Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.