We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid campground” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dorst Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dorst Campground
Save Saved
You added Dorst Campground to your Saves list
Seven-and-a-half miles northwest of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Solid campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Spent two nights camping here..
Overall good, bit noisy on the sunday night..
Our pitch was a bit tight for our relatively small tent meaning we had to pitch half in a bush!
There was also a fair bit of litter..
However the location is great for the parks and the toilets were clean

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family of four booked a campground for the July 4th. weekend back in February. Being able to book in advance really matters, because we tried to camp in Sequoia/Kings Canyon NP two years ago over the same holiday weekend without a reservation, and were disappointed.

Our site was almost level and close to the creek, but the creek was almost dry. NPS has stopped taking reservations for Dorst Creek due to a water shortage, so we had a number of emply sites. This was welcome, especially over the busy holiday weekend. The sites are dual use (tent or RV), and so some folks had generators running into the night. But generally these were not very noisy and were not a bother.

It was great to wake up to the twitter of birds in the morning, and to see a deer family peacefully grazing near our site. At night, the constellation of stars in the clear sky was amazing. We were planning to go on a ranger-led stargazing trip, but we ended up not having the time. The site does not have showers, and we had to wait in a long line for more than an hour and a half to get a ten minute shower ($4) at the public showers at Lodgepole Market.

We had hoped for ranger programs at the campground amphitheater, but it appeared to be not in use any more. We did go hiking on the hard-to-find Muir Grove trail, that starts near the group campsites, and saw a bear on our way back very close to the campgrounds.

Overall it was a lovely experience -- hopefully the water situation will improve so the park service reinstates advance reservations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We are a family of 5 which includes 3 small kids ranging from age 3 to 7.

As I went through reading some of the reviews and "negative" experiences my husband and I couldn't help but chuckle. For starters, you're camping.... You're not at a 5 star resort. Although, the park DOES HAVE a resort for all you campers who don't actually want anything to do with the nature aspect that comes with camping. If you don't like hills, go to the resort. If you don't like animals (including bears) go to the resort. If you are annoyed with having to clean up after yourself to keep bears away, go to the resort. If you don't like walking to a bathroom possibly up a hill, go to the resort... Otherwise, the only annoyance is the other campers; whether loud or messy, but we survived them, too. lol!

Dorst was a lovely area... We were on a hill but didn't mind since it's part of the natural setting. We were still able to find a level spot to place out tent at the bottom of the hill. We had a beautiful meadow and small babbling creek behind us. WARMING: Dress in layers. Tank, tee, hoodie. We were here at the end of June, and during the day the shade is hoodie weather, and the sun spots are tank weather. So it was a bit of bipolarness, but just added to the experience. Nights are cold so dress warm for that.

Since you are camping, if you don't have an RV prepare for dark walks to the bathroom, and the bathrooms don't have light. Again, you're camping, so even having a working toilet is a luxury. Just pack some good flashlights, and have a set bathroom buddy team.

I LOVED seeing the bears during the day! Everyday we saw at least one, but never trying to get into anyone's things... Kinda more on the sidelines waiting for night fall. *Dun, dun, duuuuuuun!!!* Yes, you will hear bears poking around at night. Remember, they aren't in your home, you're in their home. MOST the people who complain about the bears is because they don't properly clean up after themselves. We were at Dorst 3 nights. The first night was pretty peaceful... Dear in the meadow, and walking by the tent, and one bear sniffed our tent and moved on. The second night we were woke up from a bear getting into our neighbors left out cooler. It was very load and sounded like it was breaking into a bank with glass breaking rather than the little cooler. Since no one else was daring to face the bear, my husband got out and went over with a bucket and scared it away. Later that night another bear sniffed our tent and carried on (it wasn't gonna bother us since we had nothing it wanted on us... keep it clean people). The last night wouldn't you know our neighbors didn't learn their lesson and the bear came back! LOL! At this point is was very exciting to me to hear them out there! I only wish I had night vision video to get some great wildlife footage!! The bears truly aren't scary.... They can get big, they are bears so that's normal, but they are really use to having people around, and they're use to people scaring them away at night. Just think of them as big pesky raccoons. They just want a snack and I promise they don't want the snack to be your face. Now if there were Mountain Lions around that would be another story, but luckily we didn't meet any of those while there! Now THAT would be scary!

Great hiking trails right on Dorst, not too far a drive to gas/shops, close enough to the Giant Forest to drive and enjoy those trails.. Just amazing! We're already talking about going back! WITH a portable shower this time. lol!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was the busiest of all the campsites we visited, a lot of people, making a lot of noise (until quiet time)

Pitches were large with all the usual equipment

Toilets were clean but a little small & no shower facility ??

Best of all, on the way to the campsite, we saw a mother bear & her cub, for me the highlight of my holiday

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Dorst is a very nice campground. Grounds are clean and well equipped, the sites aren't totally crammed in on each other. Some Sequoia campgrounds are more scenic, this one does have a trail to a small Sequoia grove we didn't have time to visit. It is also one of 2 campgrounds in Sequoia that has reservations available which can ease you mind during peak season. The only downside is that it is a bit of a drive to the attractions and services if you need any.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We love National Park camprounds. Dorst had one problem that we have seen solved in better ways in other National Park campgrounds. There was NO place to wash your dishes or dispose of dishwater. The water faucetts, say " No dishwashing," as they should. But the only other sinks in the park are in the bathrooms. It is fine to wash them at your campsite in your own dishpans, but because of Bear precautions you really can't toss out your dishwater, so WHERE can you dispose of your dishwater? People were doing it in the bathrooms sinks which plugged because they had no drain traps to catch particles. We have been to other National Park campgrounds, like for instance Yellowstone last summer, they provided a dish sink in a small room at the bathhouse. Otherwise a nice location, nice roads, procedures etc. Had to go to other location for pay showers, which is normal for some National Parks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We just spent 3 nights at dorst campground, we usually stay at stony creek. The sites are definitely smaller but very nice. For being such a huge campsite it definitely is really quiet and peaceful. It was full the weekend we were there but it was still pretty quiet and neighbors seem really respectful of each other. We didn't have any issues with rowdy neighbors. The convenient shuttle to lodgepole make it fast and easy to go take showers ($3 for 10 minutes) the shuttle driver drives much faster than I would so you get there pretty quickly, the only bummer is they only go every hour.

The rangers are definitely more vigilant here as far as making sure you adhere to the bear rules, we never had a problem but our neighbors got a huge fine for keeping their cooler out and their dog tied up while they were gone.

Bathrooms have flush toilets and running water but not much else. They don't seem to keep them as clean as stony creek.

We saw lots of birds, chipmunks, deer and had a lovely time at the campsite. Would probably stay again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorst Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorst Campground

Address: Seven-and-a-half miles northwest of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorst Campground has 204 campsites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dorst Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorst Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.