We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful campsite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dorst Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dorst Campground
Save Saved
You added Dorst Campground to your Saves list
Seven-and-a-half miles northwest of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
los angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful campsite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We just spent 3 nights at dorst campground, we usually stay at stony creek. The sites are definitely smaller but very nice. For being such a huge campsite it definitely is really quiet and peaceful. It was full the weekend we were there but it was still pretty quiet and neighbors seem really respectful of each other. We didn't have any issues with rowdy neighbors. The convenient shuttle to lodgepole make it fast and easy to go take showers ($3 for 10 minutes) the shuttle driver drives much faster than I would so you get there pretty quickly, the only bummer is they only go every hour.

The rangers are definitely more vigilant here as far as making sure you adhere to the bear rules, we never had a problem but our neighbors got a huge fine for keeping their cooler out and their dog tied up while they were gone.

Bathrooms have flush toilets and running water but not much else. They don't seem to keep them as clean as stony creek.

We saw lots of birds, chipmunks, deer and had a lovely time at the campsite. Would probably stay again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have camped at Dorst Creek and Lodgepole in the past. This time around, the other campers were a little rowdy, which is the only reason i put a four out of five for this time of year. Otherwise, Dorst is very peaceful and secluded compared to the more touristy Lodgepole. Rangers are helpful if you ask but they don't smother you as long as you are being careful about the rules. You will see deer and bear at Dorst, so the rules are important. There are a few nice trails starting from Lodgepole. I recommend the Muir Grove trail which takes you to a secluded sequoia grove that takes a little work to get to. The trail starts and ends in Dorst. If you can avoid the crowds, this is a great spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights @ # 177. It was close to the restroom which has flush toilets (always a plus). They did run out of toilet paper in the women's restroom so word of advise, bring some from home just in case. We did hear banging and yelling the first 3 nights which told me there was a bear somewhere in the campground...as long as you have EVERYTHING put away in the bear box you should be fine. Bear Management did drive around quite often which made us feel a little more at ease. When you need to shower you have 2 options- either go right out of the campground to Lodgepole or left to Stoney Creek. Both have a store also. We had a great time. The sunset our last night was incredible-the sky looked like it was on fire. The meadows throughout the campground were very pretty with wild flowers of different colors and we even saw a bear at the bigger meadow by the entrance. There were also a couple of deer who came by our site which was totally neat to watch. The campground was clean and everyone was pretty respectful as far as quite time goes. Dorst is a beautiful and very large campground and I recommend staying here if you have the chance

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We usually camp in southern sites, but as it was summer booked for Dorst.

Only minor bear experiences and rangers were on top of it, facilities were mostly clean, rangers were a bit nick-picky, but overall very helpful. Site was beautiful-meadows and small rock hills. A small trek to muir grove starts near the group campgrounds and is very pretty-there were bears in the grove though. A short drive to lodgepole, where $3 can buy you and your closest friends a 10 minute shower. Also, very close to little baldy trailhead and 20mins from big baldy trailhead. The campsites are generally small, but adequate. Meaning, your tents are very close and right next to your food bin and your car. Not a huge deal, but don't expect to get multiple cars or a lot of stuff in your site.

Had one neighbor who got wasted and screamed at his wife throughout the night, three nights running. Had another neighbor, a Canadian woman who was yelling at everyone, family and stranger alike. She even left a rude note for the campers who reserved the site after her when she left them telling them not to occupy the site until noon as she had paid for it and was still hers until then. I removed the note before they got there :)

Those new campers were great and so were our other neighbors, someone even left their leftover firewood in our site, which was awesome and we paid the favor forward. I guess basic camping manners are gone nowadays, but luckily they seem to be a small proportion of the guests. But we didn't experience it so much in the foothills. That might be a difference as Dorst takes online reservations whereas most of the other sites, including foothils, are first come first served.

Overall was a great trip, just some weird neighbors.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Booked 3 nights. #95. Perfect location. Not too close to the bathrooms, had the faucet right there, and flat ground. Pretty creek where we took some wine and hung by the water. Muir Grove trail is within the camp and it's a fun 4-mi round trip trail to Sequoias. Yes, we had a bear encounter whilst around the campfire. He smelled our grill and came casually strolling by. We grouped together and yelled so he left. A bear came every night so keep your food put away. Nearby to Lodegepole so we could get stuff we needed. Went hiking and saw the sights. Definitely a fun campground to stay at. Just be sure to find photos of the lots you plan to stay at, bc some are VERY slanted.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

We were a group of 5 (2 adults, 3 kids), who stayed at Dorst for 3 nights in late June. Huge pro--it's a lovely campground. We stayed across from the meadow towards the back of the campgrounds. My quibbles are that it's mixed camping--RVs amidst tents-- and the RV generators going all hours of the night are wearying. Also, one toilet in the ladies' room was clogged all 3 nights of our stay even after we reported it. There's a lot of bear activity, so if you stay here, do your neighbors a favor & CLEAN UP COMPLETELY after every meal.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chino
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

we camped for 2 nights and the bears raided from 12 am to 5 am i couldnt sleep all the noise and in fact our food box broke compleltly and my dogs came back super frightned i honestly do not recomend to stay there right now its terrifying im still scared......

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorst Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorst Campground

Address: Seven-and-a-half miles northwest of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorst Campground has 204 campsites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dorst Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorst Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.