We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“camping with friends who have never been ther” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hume Lake

Hume Lake
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Activities: Fishing, Swimming, Motor-boating
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A lake area offering many outdoor activities.
Visalia, California, United States
2 reviews
“camping with friends who have never been ther”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

nice place for a walk swim boat and bike rentals and you have to try a Hume burger while you are there

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    29
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We thought it would be too busy as it was a weekend before the kids went back to school, but we found parking and a picnic spot right away. We rented a kayak and a row boat. If you have a small child, <7, I would recommend a kayak and put the child in the middle, even though they say the kayak seats 2 do it. The row boat was hard to manage for some reason. Enjoy

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“I'll camp there next time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Drove thru on the way out nice spot with camping & a christian camp has facilities available for food supplies & laundry, the lake is beautiful

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter Ranch
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Relaxing, Just What We Needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Swimming in Hume Lake was just what we needed after all those trees and meadows. We went swimming at Sandy Cove. The water was cool, but not too cold. You can swim across the cove. I particularly enjoyed floating on my back and seeing the trees, blue sky and black and white dragonflies fluttering overhead.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We didn't plan on spending much time at Hume Lake but it was so awesome we kept going back! My kids enjoyed fishing for trout (we caught five) and swimming in the lake. I enjoyed taking pictures as it was beautiful. I think what made the difference was the lack of powerboats so it was a nice quiet place where everyone seemed to enjoy themselves.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hume Lake also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Hume Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hume Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.