We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cave, very nice and knowledgeable guides” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Cave

Crystal Cave
CA-180 E, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93265
(559) 784-1500
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Nature & Parks
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Crystal Cave is a marble cave near the Giant Forest, Sequoia National Park.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful cave, very nice and knowledgeable guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I have been to several caves on several continents, and this is one of the most beautiful I have seen. The guided tours are great. The guides are young, enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and talk just the right amount: not too much, not too little. Our 6 year old daughter was completely hooked, and asked the guide questions upon questions at the end, who was very happy to work overtime, explaining everything with all sorts of child-friendly analogies. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalCave1940, Manager at Crystal Cave, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Gosh! Thanks for the feedback. Kids can ask the best and most insightful questions.

For those considering bringing children, we've noticed that kids seem to have the best time in the earlier tours. We do have a lights-out section of the tour. If you suspect that it will be too much for your little one, consider waiting until they can really enjoy the thrill and awe of total darkness and quiet.

For those wanting an adult-only tour, those are offered as well. Ask at the time you purchase your tickets.

We are super glad to have kids out exploring with their family in our beautiful national parks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    50
    13
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome cave of wonders!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

While camping at Lodgepole campground our group of 14 ages 3 months to 63 took a trip to the caves. Tickets must be purchased ahead of time at the visitor's center. There are senior discounts but even the infant had to buy a ticket. You must allow about an hour and a half to get there on time and they want you to arrive 30 minutes prior to your admission time. This is important info for planning your schedule. There are bear lockers in the parking lot, which we used to store our picnic lunch. Our tour was for 11:30, so by the time we exited the cave and hiked out (yes, I said hiked) we were tired, hot and hungry. They don't allow anything brought in except water (no backpacks, camera bags, etc.) Pictures may be taken w/o flash. We had 2 3 year olds with us who made the hike in and out, but had to stop to rest occasionally (as did the rest of us). Everyone should have their own water because you will be thirsty! The tour of the cave is fascinating and very family friendly. Everyone in our group enjoyed themselves. The tour guide gave a great presentation and engaged the whole group. This is truly a must-see for those who can manage the hike in and out.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalCave1940, Manager at Crystal Cave, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thanks for the thorough information and great review. Praise inspires us!.

You brought up a point that gets lost so we want to remind folks about it. To create a less invasive cave tour, we've eliminated flash photography. Did you know that the cave informational flier that accompanies your cave ticket comes with directions on how to download FREE professional cave photos (no ads, we promise)? You can also purchase a thumb drive with a ton more.

We hope to see you on the trail again, or maybe even on a Halloween tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“worst cave tour I have had”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We have been on as many as 10 or more cave tours and Crystal Cavern is the worst cave tour we have had. The group was too big , the cave poorly lit and the tour guide basically just walk you through the caves stopping to say a few words here and there .... Nothing too informative ... and failed to point out some interesting formations ... We happened to see them because we looked back ...

To those who wish to go on a cave tour, better to try some other caverns like Shasta caverns , even Black Chasm

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalCave1940, Manager at Crystal Cave, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing cave tour. It's such a beautiful cave with such a dedicated and proud staff. We are glad that you did take the time to visually explore and wonder about the stalactites, stalagmites, shields, soda straws, rimstone pools, and sparkling cascades of calcium carbonate.

We hope you continue to love and explore America's caves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
1 review
“Awesome experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our tour guide, GORDO made our cave tour so much fun! He was really informative and enthusiastic.Thank you for persevering this extremely delicate and precious place for others to appreciate.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalCave1940, Manager at Crystal Cave, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
You know, Gordo is one of the best. Heck, they're all great. We are glad that you had a great Crystal Cave EdVenture with Gordo.

This past summer Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks celebrated our first Dark Sky Festival and Gordo and other guides gave special cave astrobiology tours. He's a smart guy.

Coming back in October? Join Gordo and the other cave guides for special Halloween tours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Lovely walk to a smallish cave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

First, you have to get tickets at either the Lodgepole or Foothill Visitor Centers at least two hours before your tour time - you can't get tickets at the cave. The road is long (6.5 miles) and winding to reach the cave - very slow going. Once you get there, you'll be glad you took the mosquito spray (so don't forget it).

The walk to the mouth of the cave is a lovely 1/2 mile downhill past streams, woods, and butterflies - it seems longer on the way back:). The marble cave is unique and unusual, though in the 45 minute tour, we didn't travel far - ask about one of the longer tours if you're physically able. The guide was knowledgeable and interesting.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalCave1940, Manager at Crystal Cave, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
We are glad that you reminded people to bring mosquito repellent. The parking area can be buggy. The cave itself is a nice reprieve from summer heat and pesky mosquitoes.

In 2014 we offer the Family tour, the Discovery tour, the Explorer's Lantern tour, the Jr. Caver tour, the Adventure tour, and the Halloween tour, so there's plenty to choose from. The cave has 3 miles of passage, but because it is a stacked cave and so full of formations, the shortest path that showed the most was developed. Can you imagine building a path through a china shop without destroying any of the fine china? That's what it must have been like to lay out and construct the trail.

We are glad to have shared the exploration experience with you. We hope to see you on the trail again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Cave also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Crystal Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.