We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family activity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Cave

Crystal Cave
CA-180 E, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93265
(559) 784-1500
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Crystal Cave is a marble cave near the Giant Forest, Sequoia National Park.
Claremont, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great family activity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Did this with the hubby and two sons. No hikers in this family, but it was really awesome. If you are in reasonably good shape and like fun side diversions, this is perfect. We went to Sequoia National Park just so I could see this cave. You must get a reservation from the Park ranger station, but, for me, it really made the trip out to Sequoia complete!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    50
    13
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing cave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I loved it when they turned out the lights! It's the darkest I have ever seen. There is a lot of walking and climbing stairs but it's worth it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abower83
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“worth the hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

i don't like hiking, especially with a 30 pound toddler on my back, but this was pretty cool. lots of caves within the cave and the tourguide was knowledgeable about the history and geology of the cave. I appreciate learning on my adventures and this met the mark. Beware that it is a hike DOWN and UP to do the tour, no assistive devices are allowed. the down part not too hard, but the up part was tough for those not in season with hiking!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Crystal Cave, Sequoia National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Reservations needed, hike down from parking lot, but the cave really is very white inside, lovely formations, trail good but stooping necessary in some places. See Sequoia National Park for hours and season.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely limestone caves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

You'll be amazed to see the relatively pristine beauty of this cave system, especially when compared to the commercial caves further north in Gold Country. And it's a great way to escape the heat in summer! Giant trees, a cave with calcite formations, remote high peaks and lakes to explore? All in Sequoia National Park!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Cave also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Crystal Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.