We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very strenuous 1/4 mile hike up the rock but worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moro Rock

Moro Rock
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A challenging walk up 400 steps to a spectacular view.
Lake Ozark
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very strenuous 1/4 mile hike up the rock but worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Beautiful views but not for those with fear of heights. Very strenuous hike at mountain altitudes. Take a bottle of water and go slow.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    94
    11
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not at bad climb, Impressive views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We weren't able to drive back when we arrived as the road was closed, but we did take a shuttle. When we were leaving the road was opened again.
I am writing this first from my husband and son's viewpoint. The climb was not bad, there was no huffing or puffing or excessive amounts of water drinking. A nice climb with steps and rails (in some spots). It was a circular type of hike around this rock. At the top the two of them went to the end of the rock. They loved it! Loved the views, loved the whole experience.
From my viewpoint. I agree with the climb for those who aren't scared of heights. For those of you that are...hey...I did it...but stayed on the inside the whole way as much as possible. I was glad to be back on the ground afterwards though.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Be ready to climb 300 stairs carved into the rock. At times the trail is very narrow, but safe. We were able to drive to and park at the Moro Rock parking area as we visited in the evening to watch the sunset.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the best views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We didn't read too much about Moro Rock prior to our visit but was certainly glad we went there. It was a nice walk around the rock to ascend to the top but the views were certainly worth the walk. In addition to enjoying the hikes among the large sequoia trees in the national park, the views from Moro Rock are spectacular!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth a bit of energy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The climb to the top was well worth the effort for the views, although we were there at a time where forest fires had caused a haze, which blighted the view ever so slightly. The climb itself was not as bad as we thought, yes there are narrow stages but we managed these with our son who was on crutches. If you are afraid of heights, I would not suggest going, there are parts of the climb that leave little between you and a very long drop.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moro Rock also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Moro Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moro Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.