We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to do this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moro Rock

Moro Rock
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations, Hiking Trails
Activities: Hiking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A challenging walk up 400 steps to a spectacular view.
Port orange
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You have to do this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 NEW

Please don't miss Moro Rock! We almost skipped out on this because we had a 4 year old to contend with, and i'm so glad we didn't. The climb wasn't too difficult, and there are plenty of places to stop and catch your breath. Children should be watched carefully, as it is a steep drop off the side. Te view at the top is worth every last step!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    57
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Not for Acrophobes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 NEW

The walk up Moro Rock isn't too intense. I saw people of all ages, shapes, and foot gear successfully walk up and down these steps. But a word of caution: there's not a lot to prevent you from stumbling off the rock face. That sense of risk (coupled with a strong breeze) might send even the most sure-footed climber into a head spin. Those who are severely afraid of heights might not make it up this one. I did see small children, even toddlers, at the top. I would not bring my own children on this walk. A preschooler could easily slip under the handrail.

That being said, I recommend this trek for all who are of able body and spirit. The view of the High Sierras are incredible. The walk up and down will only take about 30 minutes, so it's definitely worth it.

If you're visiting during the busy summer months, know that you won't be alone. The route up and down the rock is just one-person wide. You may have to negotiate a bit with those walking opposite you. You'll also have to wait a while if you're planning to take the shuttle. We waited over 30 minutes. There is a pit toilet at the shuttle stop, but it stunk to high heaven the day we visited.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A good place to see birds, and sunbathe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 NEW

We stayed in Morro Bay for 5 days, and the Rock dominates the view from the town.
We drove down and parked by the base of the rock, and found a place to sunbathe, and paddle in the Ocean. Nearby, is an area where surfers frequent and the surf is great for them.
The Rock itself is restricted - you are not able to climb on it but the area is a great place to see many varieties of birds especially pelicans. A great place to visit.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A must see for Sequoia NP visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 NEW

The views from Sequoia NP are beautiful! There is a one mile trail from the Giant Forest museum and a free shuttle service available for those who do not wish to walk. Park services does a great job making Moro Rock easily accessible for visitors of all abilities. Don't fear the walk to the top, its not too bad and you will be rewarded with great vistas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing view!! On top of the world!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 NEW

This trail is short but challenging for non-hikers. Steep and narrow, don't do it if you are afraid of heights. The view from the top is unmatched! You are literally on top of the rock and the valley falls away below you! Great view of western Sierra Nevadas.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moro Rock also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Moro Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moro Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Moro Rock to your Saves list