We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great climb, Great Views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moro Rock

Moro Rock
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A challenging walk up 400 steps to a spectacular view.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great climb, Great Views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

While visiting Sequoia, be sure to take the time to climb Moro Rock. It's not a tough climb, but it is a little long, and the altitude will take it's toll; so just take your time. The view from the top is fantastic and makes the climb worth it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    97
    12
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honeoye Falls, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Thankfully, one of the employees at the Foothills Visitor Center suggested Moro Rock. I was a little leery, as I am 55 and was with my 18 & 25 year old daughters, who i figured I couldn't keep up with. I just took my time as they ran ahead. I made it half way, and that was definitely far enough to see the most amazing views ever. This is so worth it...i think most any age or shape can make it half way. Well worth the walk!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
215 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Spectacular Sunset from Moro Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

At the end of the day, nothing is better than a spectacular sunset. There is a parking area not too far from the trailhead, and a ~1\4 mile hike straight up to the top (mostly stairs/inclines carved into the rock). It is worth every step for the view.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Like flying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Moro Rock, if you even know it exists. Just another amazing wonder of California that 99% have about no idea about. West side of the Sierra's heading out of King's Cyn south side. Yes you do have to as some people put it, "hike" to the top but that's just not accurate. This is a safe walk way with guard rails and cables and no way to have an accident unless you have no common understanding of what stay on the path or fall a long way down and die means.
This place is unique for you can view on a 360 degree the western Sierra's and all the SJValley. In spring time there are wildflowers and the drive that leads you here is like driving through heaven.
Enough said?

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You must make the climb/hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The warning sign at the bottom cannot really give you the feel of how far the top is. We were certain the top was near, and we were only half way there.
For those afraid of heights, the workout is more likely to bother you. The path is rock solid and "feels" kind of like a narrow, winding staircase . When you finally get to the top, the view is something you will remember for the rest f your life.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moro Rock also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Moro Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moro Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.