We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss This!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moro Rock

Moro Rock
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations, Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A challenging walk up 400 steps to a spectacular view.
Honeoye Falls, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Thankfully, one of the employees at the Foothills Visitor Center suggested Moro Rock. I was a little leery, as I am 55 and was with my 18 & 25 year old daughters, who i figured I couldn't keep up with. I just took my time as they ran ahead. I made it half way, and that was definitely far enough to see the most amazing views ever. This is so worth it...i think most any age or shape can make it half way. Well worth the walk!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    74
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Spectacular Sunset from Moro Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

At the end of the day, nothing is better than a spectacular sunset. There is a parking area not too far from the trailhead, and a ~1\4 mile hike straight up to the top (mostly stairs/inclines carved into the rock). It is worth every step for the view.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Like flying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Moro Rock, if you even know it exists. Just another amazing wonder of California that 99% have about no idea about. West side of the Sierra's heading out of King's Cyn south side. Yes you do have to as some people put it, "hike" to the top but that's just not accurate. This is a safe walk way with guard rails and cables and no way to have an accident unless you have no common understanding of what stay on the path or fall a long way down and die means.
This place is unique for you can view on a 360 degree the western Sierra's and all the SJValley. In spring time there are wildflowers and the drive that leads you here is like driving through heaven.
Enough said?

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You must make the climb/hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The warning sign at the bottom cannot really give you the feel of how far the top is. We were certain the top was near, and we were only half way there.
For those afraid of heights, the workout is more likely to bother you. The path is rock solid and "feels" kind of like a narrow, winding staircase . When you finally get to the top, the view is something you will remember for the rest f your life.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Awesome view: all seasons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

In the summer, you can drive and park at the base of the rock. In the winter, park in the parking lot across the museum, if the road opens, you can take the shuttle, if the road closes you have to walk (snowshoeing or crosscountry skiing). The walk from the museum to the base of the rock is about 2 miles. To climb to the top, you have to walk through hundreds of steps....but the view is rewarding! Best to go before sunset.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moro Rock also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Moro Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moro Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.