We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moro Rock

Moro Rock
, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A challenging walk up 400 steps to a spectacular view.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“OMG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The best view, went on an overcast day and by the time we got to the top it was sunny with a complete cloud cover that made it feel like we were floating in the clouds that we were above. Stunning view. Take your time even if you are not in great shape the stairs are pretty good and there are handrails and places you can step aside for others to pass.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    103
    12
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Moro rock - worth each step up the hill!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is (un)arguably the best place in the whole park system between Kings Canyon and the Sequoia national park. The climb may be strenuous for the elderly but I would say take your time, there are lot of places where you can sit for couple of minutes and then start walking again. The feeling on reaching the top was ecstatic. The best vistas you can see for miles. Try to be there before sunset, so that you can witness sunset. We reached before sunset, but nonetheless the views were spectacular.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Superb mountain top and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

You must absolutly spare a little energy to climb to the top (easy thing to do but please wear good shoes)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lunenburg, massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, worth the energy to get there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Went here with husband and kids aged 11 and 8.

We were originally told at the visitor area that the road was closed but there was a hike of about a mile from the great forest museum. So, we parked and hiked out (easy walk) for about 1.5 before turning around when we saw a sign that said Moro Rock 4 miles, but looking back now, it may have said .4 miles. When we got back we saw the road was actually open so we drove right up to the parking lot and walked to the top of the rock.

So, the hike was great, and would highly recommend it. The walk to the top of Moro rock was worth it but...I was very nervous, especially with my 8 year old, I had a hand on her arm or collar the whole time. If it was rainy or slippery I would not have tried it. The views are just as good 50 steps up as if you go to the very top, so even if you are not physically able to do all the steps (300?) to the top, do what you can and enjoy the views.

It was 10 for a day pass to get into the park. There was construction going on, but the rangers in the entry booth or visitor center can help you time your drive.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great place to visit. Don't miss it.The road to the top took around 20 min. Amazing feeling of happiness, fear and anxiety, all at the same time...

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moro Rock also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Moro Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moro Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.