We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moro Rock

Moro Rock
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations, Hiking Trails
Activities: Hiking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A challenging walk up 400 steps to a spectacular view.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My dad and I climbed to the top of Moro rock. Other members of our group stopped before making it to the top from fear of heights. The steps are very narrow in places and the rail sometimes seems too low. Even half way up, the view is incredible. There are lots of places to stop for a rest or just wait for your group if you decide that you've climbed far enough.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    68
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duesseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Peaceful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hike up Moro Rock is not very arduous, and the trail is well-maintained.

Once you reach the top, you will be rewarded with a splendid view of the canyon and the surrounding mountains. It is very relaxing and peaceful.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Moro Rock First Snow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It was my first time at the Moro rock but unfortunately i didnt see anything, i was the only person to climb it the 10 nov 2012 (first snow in Sequoia). There was a river on the stairs, then ice, and finaly snow. I had a great hike though.
I could see absolutely Nothing huge clouds and fog everywhere, i guess the view without the clouds is majestic... I will climb it again to find out :)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powers Lake
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding panoramic for only 15minute walk up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Definitely don't miss this if ur in the Park. This was definitely a cant miss attraction for us. It's a 10-15 min walk up the stairs to a spectacular view. WARNING: make sure the road to Moro Rock is open.....it closes sometime in November and doesn't re open until spring.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The steps are hard work, but do-able, even if relatively unfit and overweight (like me!). It doesn't take that long.

The pay off when you reach the top is most definitely worth it. So glad I went.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moro Rock also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Moro Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moro Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.