We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moro Rock

Moro Rock
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A challenging walk up 400 steps to a spectacular view.
Tadley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The steps are hard work, but do-able, even if relatively unfit and overweight (like me!). It doesn't take that long.

The pay off when you reach the top is most definitely worth it. So glad I went.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    80
    10
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coralville, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Went to the top and enjoyed every angle. Mountains, valleys, winding roads. It is a wonderland from the top. The steps are steep, but worth the effort.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Hike Up the Side of Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hike was one of my favorite. They literally installed stairs and rails up the side of these huge rocks. If you dont like heights, this may not be for you. It was a little strenous and I did see people turn around. Theres a lot of stairs and the railing is a little scary cause theres a lot of open space. But the view from the top is worth it! You can see the Keawah River down below and the dept is close to that of the Grand Canyon.....

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbina, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Exceptional Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

350 steps up bring you to the Moro Rock granite dome, and it's worth every one of them. The view is astounding & you really shouldn't miss it. If you don't like heights, don't go as there are places you can look down a very long way. Just one of the highlights on our trip to Sequoia National Park.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peotone, Illinois
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Knee-knocking fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Fun short hike to gorgeous views. Not for the those with fear of heights! We did this hike in October and had very few fellow hikers. I imagine its a zoo in the summer.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moro Rock also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Moro Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moro Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.