We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moro Rock

Moro Rock
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Update attraction details
Type: Geologic Formations, Hiking Trails
Activities: Hiking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A challenging walk up 400 steps to a spectacular view.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Definitely worth the many many steps it takes to get up there. Amazing views from the top of the rock - but if you are afraid of heights, then rather don't do it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    51
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coconut Creek, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best View Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We visited Moro Rock on a crystal clear day. At least the top was clear. Blue-Blue sky and the bottom valley was covered in a pillow like cloud. The Great Divide Mountains were seen clearly over the clouds. A heavenly 360 degree view.
This short climb will make you huff and puff, but for me it was the greatest view I have ever seen.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“View to Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Don't be scared of all the steps. It's not as bad as it looks. Just take your time. You're on vacation...What's the rush? Bring water and a camera. It's a climb you will want to remember. There are a few places to stop and catch your breath along the way.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent views with some effort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hiked here from the Museum - a moderate hike with the 400 steps to the top. Well worth it for the views, some scary drops but manageable climb with hand rails and steps carved into the rock.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“View from the top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I had noticed Morro Rock on the National Park map and decided to stop when we arrived at that location.

We had my 88 year old father with us and had been provided a handicap parking pass upon entry to the park. I quickly found a handicap parking location, in front of the restrooms.

A quick survey of the location and Morro Rock revealed that my father would not be able to make the stair climb up the rock.

While he waited in the car I was off to to the top of the rock. I would guess if you take your time it is perhaps a twenty minute hike up the path and stairs of the rock. I did not time it going up, but coming down was much quicker.

There are frequent rest areas provided as you ascend the stairs. I took advantage of these during my climb. I was carring a camera packback and tripod. I also carried a bottle of water. The daytime temperatures in Sept. were 85+F. I also wore a hat.

Sections of the climb are very narrow, sometimes only on person may pass, either up or down. Be patient and give way to those who approach.

I found that at each of the 'rest" stops I could find a nice photo opportunity. So the camera was always handy.

When you finally reach the top of the rock it levels out with handrails for safety and to restrict you to the center portion of the rock. You can see from the inland mountains to the Pacific Ocean on a very clear day. I overheard a tour guide directing the attention of his group to the pacific coast area within our view. He also described the climbing features on the mountains in view, but I did not retain that information. Old tymers setting in.

I set up the tripod and took some photos. I took a series for a panorama also. People would move to the end of the railing area for the best overall photo image and I worked around that. As usual people, couples would ask me to take their photo with their camera for them at the location. I am always glad to do this. Tripod is the signal this guy must know what he is doing.

Well work the stop. It is a steep climb. Not for those with limitiations, poor health, breathing problems. I am sure that in the prime summer months it is also hot during the daytime climb. Stop at the rest stops, catch your breath. You are at a high altitude. Take some water, wear a hat, suncreen and enjoy the view.

This is inside a National Park so there would be the entrance fee for the park. No additional fee to visit Morro Rock.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moro Rock also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Moro Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moro Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.