We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Other Side Of Sequoia National Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mineral King Valley

Mineral King Valley
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Activities: Hiking, Backpacking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A good hiking and backpacking area.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Other Side Of Sequoia National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

If you have an extra day in Sequoia National Park, then a trip to the Mineral King Valley in the southern part of the park is definitely WORTH IT. It is a beautiful area that really shows off the beauty of the Sierra Nevadas (and I've been to the Alps, Andes and Rockies all in the last year!). If you do go, it would not be worth it to not hike one of the many trails, especially to one the pristine mountain lakes. Me and my friends did the hike to Eagle Lake and it was awesome. So much diversity: streams, forests, meadows, painted mountains, jagged cliffs and a clear blue lake. The road is narrow to the valley, but I thought it was actually fun and only took about an hour and 10 minutes, but don't worry it will be worth the adventure!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Majestic and stunning trees and great hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a beautiful park but the road down can be tiring and long. However, if you go slow around the blind curves it's worth every minute of the drive to get to these hiking trails and trees.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the sidetrip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

If you have an extra day. It's worth seeing this place, though, the road is narrow and slow. Remember, it the travel/trip not the destination.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“The Views Are Better Around Every Corner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Only the first eleven miles were open! We sure would have liked to have seen the remaining twelve miles. If the rest was as beautiful as the eleven it would have to be great! The road was steep and narrow but slow would be the way to go no matter how wide the road! The wild flowers were in full bloom and were probably the best display we've seen anywhere! There was a raging river with a beautiful bridge built in 1923, well worth a stop! There were several lovely waterfalls surrounded by those amazing wildflowers! Breath taking vistas around every corner! We spent about 2 1/2 hours going and coming on the eleven miles! Many stops and many pictures! The only disapointment was the locked gate at the eleven mile mark!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
265 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“The windy 1.5 hour road was rough, but it led us to paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Mineral King Road is only open for the non-snowy parts of the year. The road is bumpy, narrow, windy, and long...if you are willing to sacrifice 1.5 hours of driving, you will be rewarded with spectacular scenery. You will pass some lovely Sequoias (not nearly as large as the giants found in the rest of the park, but fascinating nonetheless. At the end of the road, you are greeted with a vista of Sierra Mountain splendor. Particularly beautiful in the fall, the trails lead past some lovely shades of orange and yellow mixed among the pine trees. We saw some snow-capped mountains, waterfalls, flowing streams, old cabins, and lovely valleys. We hiked the Mosquito Lakes Trail, but there are trails of all lengths and skill levels. I suggest the Farewell Gap Trail to Aspen Flat for an easy 2 mile, 1 hour hike. There are port-a-potties at the trail head.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mineral King Valley also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Mineral King Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mineral King Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.