We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nature's Wonder !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giant Forest

Giant Forest
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Forests, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A forest with ancient sequoia trees.
Aguascalientes
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Nature's Wonder !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Me And my Family spent 2 Days Camping And we Enjoyed it a Lot ¡
The Forrest And Trees are Awesome, there are Spectacular Views, Creeks with cool Fresh Water to Enjoy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    53
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Magic forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We hiked the Trail of the Sequoias in early September. We got to see all the main attractions; including General Sherman, Meadows, Tharpe Log.... while keeping our distance from the crowd. This time of year was great because the crowds were small. This trail around the Giant Forest was easy to navigate and it took us about 3-4 hours to enjoy the majestic beauty that can only be found in this forest. We saw a majority of the giant trees and even a view of Mineral King from the highest point of the trail around 7,300 feet.
We stopped at the visitors center upon entering and talked to the Ranger, who assessed our hiking skills and what our interests were before he made the recommendation of where to go. We bought a trail map since the trail he recommended was not on the map that they give at the gate.
This was an amazingly beautiful hike and I cried when I left. I love this place so much!
FYI...Be aware of the bear recommendations of food storage. They don't have food available on the mountain and they don't recommend keeping it in your car. There is a large fine for food that is stored incorrectly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic & incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent a few hours here en route to San Francisco and I wish we could have spent a few days! The giant trees are simply awe inspiring and beautiful and the scenic drive through the park is breathtaking.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We only live 50 miles from this Park but it never gets old. Since we started going up there again and post pictures on Facebook now when people visit they all want to go. If you like nature this is the place to go. You can see up close the largest tree on earth and know many of these things were living before the birth of Christ. Only $20 per car to enter and if you are 62 or older you just pay $10 and get a life time pass to ALL National Parks. Active Military and dependents get in Free also.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sequoia National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

To stand alone in a quiet meadow dwarfed by a forest of giants, I think there is probably nothing else like it on earth. Be aware that the road out of the park is a definite white-knuckler!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giant Forest also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Giant Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giant Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.