We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic forest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giant Forest

Giant Forest
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A forest with ancient sequoia trees.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Magic forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We hiked the Trail of the Sequoias in early September. We got to see all the main attractions; including General Sherman, Meadows, Tharpe Log.... while keeping our distance from the crowd. This time of year was great because the crowds were small. This trail around the Giant Forest was easy to navigate and it took us about 3-4 hours to enjoy the majestic beauty that can only be found in this forest. We saw a majority of the giant trees and even a view of Mineral King from the highest point of the trail around 7,300 feet.
We stopped at the visitors center upon entering and talked to the Ranger, who assessed our hiking skills and what our interests were before he made the recommendation of where to go. We bought a trail map since the trail he recommended was not on the map that they give at the gate.
This was an amazingly beautiful hike and I cried when I left. I love this place so much!
FYI...Be aware of the bear recommendations of food storage. They don't have food available on the mountain and they don't recommend keeping it in your car. There is a large fine for food that is stored incorrectly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    59
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic & incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent a few hours here en route to San Francisco and I wish we could have spent a few days! The giant trees are simply awe inspiring and beautiful and the scenic drive through the park is breathtaking.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We only live 50 miles from this Park but it never gets old. Since we started going up there again and post pictures on Facebook now when people visit they all want to go. If you like nature this is the place to go. You can see up close the largest tree on earth and know many of these things were living before the birth of Christ. Only $20 per car to enter and if you are 62 or older you just pay $10 and get a life time pass to ALL National Parks. Active Military and dependents get in Free also.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sequoia National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

To stand alone in a quiet meadow dwarfed by a forest of giants, I think there is probably nothing else like it on earth. Be aware that the road out of the park is a definite white-knuckler!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Alone Amidst the Giants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went to see General Sherman and ended up hiking approx. 5 miles to the Giant Tress Museum, but enjoyed every minute of the hike. There are many trails beyond General Sherman that one can hike for miles and hours in the amidst of the giant sequoia trees. We saw all the famous sequoias during this hike and there were very few hikers in the forest, and the trails are well maintained thanks to the NP staffs. We just happened to overheard a friendly ranger telling another hiker where to have the best views of the giants and we went for it without a trail map. That was an adventure for not knowing where we were and which divided trail we should follow since not all trails in the forest have sign or direction. So best to ask the ranger office for a detailed trail map (you may have to purchase one in the shop) before you venture out. Bring plenty of drinking water and snacks with you and enjoy God's nature all by yourself!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giant Forest also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Giant Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giant Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.